Brain Dump

Jessica Giannone
3 min readAug 25, 2020

An exercise in free writing…

Photo by Jason Leung on Unsplash

I don’t get writer’s block often. I don’t even know if I believe in such a thing from a “scientific” perspective.

I do know that I’m lacking the motivation and mental clarity/sharpness to write something that “matters,” so I thought I’d give myself a writing prompt.

Really, there is no theme or goal here. I just decided rhyming would be simpler to get the juices flowing. I barely paused. It’s been about five minutes. I could probably go on for 20.

Amusing for me and maybe for you… well, it kicked a bit of the blues.

If I can’t think, I rhyme
Surely it takes less time
To conjure the words, which have clearer bounds
No subject to behold; just matches to be found
Of audible wordplay and maybe some puns
It may not be deep, but it can still be fun
I wrote this in 30 seconds without stopping
Running out of ideas now; my mind isn’t “hopping”

Don’t think I’ll ever be a rapper
Too much pressure
When you’re on the spot
And can’t stop
Have to find the rhyme or reason
For this writing… just teasin’

Not much substance to be found here
Just an experiment, to be clear
Not entertaining; not making sense
A waste of time to build suspense
To no real ending
Sanity descending
A joke of a post
When your mind is a ghost
Searching for clues
To write something new

I should be embarrassed
This is borderline careless
Ideas spewing out of me
Before I dwell on the anatomy
Of the thoughts let out
From a mindless bout

An intimate picture
Of a twisted sister
Fragments of things
Hanging by a string
Spewed out in the draft
Why, you ask?

Call it an exercise
Maybe it’s wise
To get out the gunk;
A nice brain dump

Something profound
Nowhere to be found
Is this meant to be published?
What would I have wished?

No one cares
What one shares
Unless they can glean
A personal theme

Tsk-tsk. No task
Grab the flask
Just kidding
Keep spitting
Out senseless words
Ya heard?
Never to be seen
Know what I mean?

There’s more to say
I’ll get carried away
Better to be brief
To have some relief
Nothing too serious
Don’t want to be delirious
Enjoying the ride
With nothing to hide

Who writes to procrastinate?
Writing this to exacerbate
The taunting screen
First blank and now a scene
Of random but true
Creativity askew

Lazy or hazy?
Or crazy?
Oopsy-daisy

I can do better than this
An opportunity missed
Perhaps, or maybe not quite
To write is to write

I’m doing this more for myself
To keep on the shelf
Or just say “screw it” and hit post
No more ghost

Does anyone else have courage to publish “trash”?
Just thought I’d ask…
To demonstrate… sometimes we don’t need a reason
To do things that help us change with the seasons

Whether good or bad, there is always a time
For words, ideas, silliness and rhymes

--

--