Losing my job to Bipolar Disorder

The Advocate
3 min readJun 6, 2017

--

How to survive and keep going after being dismissed because of your chronic condition

I came across discussions and stories about managing chronic health conditions and keeping a job. Unfortunately, I experienced the difficulty of functioning to the degree I was expected to function because of my constant fluctuations in mood and energy. Although I have strong work ethics, it was impossible for me to work sometimes. You would say ‘’that’s okay, you can take some time off’’, but the reality is a bit different.

Different work places have different sick days policies, which are, or are not respected. Even if dismissal on disability basis is unlawful under the 1999 Disability Act, there are so many loopholes that can be found to make sure you are not a liability to your employer (which I will most likely discuss in another post focusing on the legal framework behind unfair dismissal and discrimination).

Here is my story: a student working part time in retail, paying own bills, being as financially independent as possible. I enjoyed working there, and I made friends. Even if it was quite hectic and sometimes physically exhausting, I went to work without dreading it. I worked in the same place before going on my year abroad, and got back the same position after I came back.

Things were different this time: I was diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder during my time abroad.

When I had my interview for my return to work it was a bright day. I was excited to see my old colleagues and meet the new ones. During the interview, I disclosed my condition.

Everything went well until I had to take time off because of my symptoms. I always followed the absence procedure and they reassured me that everything is fine and they will be there to support me. Some months later I was not getting better, and my condition started to manifest itself through psychogenic seizures (attacks that may look like epileptic seizures and are not caused by abnormal brain electrical discharges, but psychological distress). I had one seizure at work…two weeks later I was told that my contract can’t be extended any longer. So, that was it. I was jobless, in a depressive episode, having to rely on my parents to barely get by. Going back home was not an option, because I was here to study.

It was a huge stress factor triggering a long and painful depressive episode lasting for almost 4 months. When I thought I got back on my feet and I can function, I started applying for jobs.

Here comes part two: I got accepted for a job at ‘’WeDon’tCare’’ company. Traumatized by my last experience, I did not disclose my condition this time. When things started to go downhill, I specified having a chronic health condition. My stay at that workplace was very short. Because I took two days off my performance was considered as being unsatisfactory (which was not). After that, I got dismissed. Guess what happened next? Another episode, this time a horrible mixed one, one that pushed me to the edge. But I am still here.

What I am trying to point out is that even if there are laws protecting us against unfair dismissal and employers are obliged to make reasonable adjustments, rules can be bent quite easily.

There is stigma and discrimination against mental illness and disability in the workplace. For those saying that the stigma is dead, I can confirm that stigma is alive and well. People just learned how to hide behind printed pieces of paper and in the small script at the end of the page. It’s 2017 and this is the harsh truth.

All of this happened during one year. In between jobs, my full-time position was to stay alive. I consider the events as tough lessons I had to learn. I am not trying to give you the cliché ‘’everything happens for a reason’’, but these experiences made me grow and motivated me to make my voice heard.

I wish more people would share their experiences with stigma at the workplace. I know that the subject is ‘’touchy’’, but we need to talk about it. It is a reality, and we can change it by standing up for ourselves. Let’s talk about it!

--

--

The Advocate

Multipotentialite and neurodivergent. Writing, creating, thinking. Ready to speak up. Also writing here medium.com/@eatingtheskygd