How I Landed an Internship in the United States (Facebook internship) Part 1: strategies and background

mJenny陳
4 min readJul 2, 2023

--

Meta (facebook) Headquarters

Introduction:

The experience of job hunting varies for each individual. This article aims to share my personal experiences and reflections on landing an internship. When it comes to finding an internship, I consider myself fortunate to have found one after a year of dedicated efforts.

In the next part of this series, I will focus on my background, strategies, and observations. I will provide valuable tips and techniques that helped me excel in interviews.

My insights on how to prepare for interviews:

https://medium.com/@gienjn/how-i-landed-an-internship-in-the-united-states-facebook-internship-part-2-interview-preparation-698d54a73152

Over the past two years in the United States, I have witnessed both favorable and challenging job markets. It became evident that the job search process is highly dependent on the economic climate. If major companies freeze their hiring processes and don’t offer any positions, finding a job can become incredibly difficult. In a previous conversation with a professional who had been working in the United States for several years, I asked if finding a job in the U.S. is easy. His response, “It depends on the economic conditions,” now seems like a piece of profound wisdom.

During my time in school, the emphasis was on diligent studying and academic performance. However, when it comes to finding a job, success is not solely determined by interview performance. It also relies on factors such as timing, luck, and the overall economic climate. For instance, encountering a massive hiring freeze can significantly impact one’s job search journey.

My Background:

This is my experience of searching for an internship in 2021. At that time, the economy was very good, and I was looking for a tech job.

Bachelor's degree:
Electrical and Computer Engineering at National Chiao Tung University.
Master's degree: Electrical and Computer Engineering at Cornell University.
Internship experience: Intel Taiwan

During my undergraduate years, I studied subjects
such as data structures, algorithms, computer organization,
and embedded systems.

Result

Offer: meta(facebook) 11/1
Online Assesment:, InterSystems, quadric.io, Inc, amazon 12/22
Interview invitation: OnePlus(Oppo contract), Clockwork Systems,
facebook (swe, pe) 9/22,
Linkedin full time
(I mistakenly applied for a full-time position.)
Interview: Clockwork Systems,facebook
transcript request: google
Reject: Clockwork Systems, OnePlus
Approximately 100 applications were submitted.

Internship Timeline:

Apr: Started practicing coding problems.
May: Prepared a resume.
June: Some companies already opened applications for internships.
submitted some application
July: Engaged in extensive application submissions.
August: Prepared for the upcoming school year including moving
September: Prepared for interviews
October: Continued interview preparations.
November: Received an offer.

Meta (facebook) Internview Timeline

Early September: Started sending out internship applications.
Mid-September: Received invitation from both Software Engineer (SWE)
and Production Engineer (PE) on the same day,
asking if I was interested in moving forward.
Mid-September: Asked about my availability.
Mid-September: Received a set of multiple-choice questions
from PE, with a two-day deadline to complete.
Late September: Received the invitation for the first-round interview from PE.
Early October: Participated in a mock interview provided by Facebook.
Early October: Had the SWE internship interview.
Mid-October: Received the invitation for the
second-round system interview from PE.
Mid-October: Had the second-round interview with PE.
Mid-October: Unfortunately, received a rejection letter
for the SWE internship position. 😢
Late October: HR from PE inquired about my availability for a phone call,
and during the call, I was informed
that I received an internship offer! 🎉

Online Job Application

When applying for internships through the company’s official website, it’s best to apply as early as possible. Companies tend to stop hiring once they have filled their positions, so submitting your application early increases your chances. Additionally, applying early means there will be fewer applicants in the pool.

As for the internship positions I applied for, I didn’t have a specific preference for job titles. I focused on the job descriptions and applied for positions that seemed suitable for me. This approach resulted in receiving interviews for various positions. It’s possible that some positions with longer job titles received fewer applications.

One interesting experience was about Meta (formerly Facebook) campus recruitment, I remember there was a limit on the number of positions one could apply for. So, I went through the website, read the job descriptions, and chose to apply for the Software Engineer Intern (SWE) position. Coincidentally, I also found the Production Engineer (PE) position to be a good fit, so I applied for the Production Engineer Intern position as well. Eventually, I received an offer for the Production Engineer Intern role. If I hadn’t come across that position and thought it was a good fit, I might not have had such a wonderful internship experience.

In the next part, I will focus on my interview preparation. I will provide valuable tips and techniques that helped me excel in interviews.

https://medium.com/@gienjn/how-i-landed-an-internship-in-the-united-states-facebook-internship-part-2-interview-preparation-698d54a73152

--

--

mJenny陳

美國生活攻略 I am a Taiwanese who has recently started working in the United States. Email: ljml40580@gmail.com #tech #美國留學