I Just Turned 30 | I Got My First Tattoo

Y Yamamoto
3 min readFeb 12, 2023

--

My First Spotify Scanner Code Tattoo

How I decided to get ‘Spotify Scanner Code Tattoo’?

Getting a Tattoo must be one of the biggest decisions anyone can do..

For the obvious reason it will permanently stay in your skin even if you tried to remove the ink, the mark will remain.

In my culture getting inked will take away the innocence of a person and its considered to be dirty. In the family I grew up, with a mental thinking that my blood will be unclean or I could never donate blood because of having a tattoo, which scared my dear life, but then I found out it wasn’t necessarily true.

With my older brother being a professional Tattoo Artist proved that its okay to get one. Only few in our family got a tattoo, I suppose it wasn’t anyone’s cup of tea.

I have never thought in my whole life I would get one. I was inspired by a very good friend of mine whom I also think would never get a tattoo but she managed to get few in certain parts of her body which I truly admired.

I love how liberating the ink in a skin could increase someone else’s self-esteem. It’s not for bragging rights but I considered it as a form of Art.

When deciding what to get for my first tattoo, it was very difficult. I did a bit of research about inspiration, design, side effect, regrets etc.. and that getting an ink must be significantly meaningful to someone.

I didn’t want to get a tattoo that I didn’t really consider nor just for the sake of getting one.

I want mine to be a resemblance of my personality, uniqueness and must be meaningful to me.

I had been seeing a funny meme of ‘Spotify BarCode Tattoo’, where it can be scanned via Spotify App and it will directly play a particular song or an album. I found it really cool and very distinctive. It’s a conversation starter and actually well thought of. I love music and I would really want to get an ink that would really portray my desire and passion.

I would also need to think of the most memorable song for me. The first thing came into my mind was ‘Passionfruit by Drake’, I remember in 2017 it was a song I kept listening, it pushed me to overcome my deep depression. It’s very moving how a particular song can lift anyone and it was indeed that song I would constantly listen anytime of the day.

I suppose the downside prior of getting it were thought of what if the code wont work once its on my skin? What if the code will expire? Will Spotify last till I get older? Is it actually worth it? So many things I needed to consider, as mentioned it will be with me forever, nonetheless I got no regrets.

I just recently turned 30.

Reaching this milestone is quite an achievement itself hence I wanted to do something significant for myself, the same thing I did when I turned 24 years old, I pierced my ears for the first time in my whole life! It was rather meaningful for me as it was the sign of my independence.

I quickly did a Video uploaded on my Youtube how I managed to get “Spotify BarCODE Tattoo

If you are unsure what to get, I would honestly recommend getting this unique and unconventional style of Tattoo.

KEEP SMILING :) XX

--

--