The Tao of Intermittent Fasting:

There is an unexpected and welcome benefit to a new way of eating

Gigi J Wolf
ChezGigi

--

Fasting really has nothing to do with speed

I had surgery in 2015 after back problems and increasing pain left me using a cane. I woke up one morning in 2011, my right side weak, and had no idea why. I had no app to tell me what had caused such a thing to happen during the previous eight hours, such as the one my BFF uses to map her sleep patterns. For all I know, I might be going out and knocking over banks while I’m asleep. Fast getaways and carrying heavy bags of money would explain a lot.

I finished student teaching for my master’s degree by using a rollator. Middle school, with its many fire drills, assemblies, occasional lock downs, ‘temporary’ outlying buildings, and geographically out of reach bathrooms, isn’t the most convenient venue for an adult with a rollator, which is a walker with four wheels and a seat.

Over the years, between buying a cane and now, I have tried every pain relief therapy heard or read about to get off pain meds and go back to frolicking in the sunshine once more.

I’ve tried therapies offered by chiropractors; I’ve done therapeutic massage (judging by the pain it’s anything but therapeutic), myofascial release, thai yoga massage, AquaStretch, cryotherapy (which is like being stuck in a shower with NO hot water…

--

--