Crafting Compelling Characters

Gigi M. Green
3 min readJun 4, 2023

Lessons from HBO’s Succession

Photo by Jordan Whitt on Unsplash

Part One: The Men of Succession

I can count on two hands the few shows that have captivated me in the way of HBO’s Succession. Now, to be clear, I wouldn’t be friends with any of these people, but the drama keeps my popcorn popping on repeat. This gripping drama series offers a glimpse into the cutthroat world of corporate power and family dynamics. As a writer, I love when a show inspires me to continue my journey and expands the notion of not only wanting to be a good writer but a great one.

The first draft of this post was twelve pages long. But don’t worry, I have drastically reduced it down to two parts. In part one, I will briefly discuss the main male characters: Logan, Connor, Kendall, Roman and Tom.

Succession teaches us how even unlikable characters with conflicting motivations, personal demons, and disloyal relationships can add depth and complexity to the stories that keep us coming back week after week. Succession how the critically acclaimed tv drama series is a master class in writing compelling characters all using the same theme of power.

For those who haven’t watched, relax, there are no spoilers here, I think. Either way, enjoy the breakdown.

We’ll start with the king.

--

--

Gigi M. Green

Author of Step by Step: How to Get Your First Job in TV. https://amzn.to/3HxWEz9 & Bury Your Past & Breakthrough to Success https://payhip.com/b/Bq4L5