Consent Still Exists in a Committed Relationship

We were going steady, but it was still attempted rape.

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

--

Photo by Kai Pilger on Unsplash

At the age of 11, I made the commitment to save myself for marriage. I’m currently 25-years-old, engaged to be married, and my wedding is exactly 6 months from today.

Also, I’m still a virgin.

And believe me — the 14 years between then and now haven’t been free of factors threatening the vow I’ve taken. I’ve come face to face with my own temptations, of course, as well as the sincere desire to give my whole self to my partners throughout the years.

But even if my physiology is saying ‘yes’, and I do in fact ‘want’ to, does not mean I am willing to.

The conscious decision to take action and participate in sex is the piece which makes consent fundamentally what it is.

Just because I’ve consented to dating you, doesn’t mean I’ve consented to handing over the rights to my body.

Unfortunately, that truth didn’t stop my first love from trying to claim ownership. When I wouldn’t willingly give it up, he got increasingly impatient.

So he tried to take it by force.

Rape is rape. It truly is…

--

--

Gillian Sisley
Fearless She Wrote

Professional Storyteller working at Meta ♾️ Tea drinker. Insatiably curious. Writing about relationships, adventure & embracing vulnerability as a superpower ✨