Logo Design

Giovanna Camm
2 min readMay 23, 2023

--

It’s a good idea to have a logo to use across my site and CV. It’s important because it will tell any future employers or clients a bit about me and attract attention.

I started drafting some rough sketches of logo ideas containing my name:

3 of these in particular stand out and were recieved well by my peers. Numbers 3, 5 and 7 were well liked. I believe these three all have their own advantages. Number three is very reminiscent of an artist as it looks like a splat of paint, number 5 shows my affinity for eye based symbolism, which is a key part of my identity as an artist not to mention the eyes meaning of knowldge. Lastly number 7 also reminds me of an artists logo but neater and more put together, perhaps signalling a more organised approach.

I think it is important to note my logo will not use my full name (Giovanna) for a couple of reasons:

A) I identify as Nonbinary and go by Gio to almost everyone I know . I do not intend to legally change it to just Gio because I think my full name is beautiful but I do prefer the androgyny of how Gio sounds and stands out as it is punchy and quick to remember.

B) The majority of English speaking people cannot remember my name properly or even spell it for that matter. It saves embarrassment on both ends to not have an employer or client call you the wrong name multiple times. It’s easier to go by one they will definitely remember.

Refined Logo Design:

I ended up refining this design for my logo and I’m pleased with it. It represents me well in my own opinion and my peers agree.

--

--