5 Important Tips I Have Learned in my 20s

Giovanna White
4 min readNov 21, 2021

--

Photo by Bankole Ade-Oni from Pexels

As I slowly crawl towards my mid-twenties, I look back on things I have learned so far in my relatively short time on this earth. Suffice to say, I have gained so much knowledge, and have been through many ups and downs. But the journey has been totally worth it in my opinion. In no particular order, here are 5 life-changing discoveries I have made after roughly two decades of being alive.

1. An electric toothbrush is as necessary as food, clothing, and shelter.

Okay, maybe that sounded a bit overdramatic. But, I have seen a tremendous difference from using an electric toothbrush compared to a manual one. It simply does a better job of cleaning and refreshing my teeth. On a side note, being this excited about something as mundane as a toothbrush lets me know that I have reached peak adulthood.

2. Identity capital is important.

It is understandable that we live in an age where scholarly education, certifications and other personal assets that make up our identity capital are not given the same weight as they were given years ago. However, there is value in accumulating such resources. Whatever type of education you acquire, pursue it with the mindset that you are enriching and feeding into yourself. It is an appreciation, not a depreciation.

Of course, a degree in and of itself does not guarantee success. It is what you accomplish with these accolades that matter the most. In other words, identity capital also comprises things like your innate personality traits, your history of relations with others, and your work ethic. Although my degree and experiences (‘tangible identity capital’) have opened many doors for me, those doors remained open through my character (‘intangible identity capital’). Think of identity capital as a form of adult currency.

3. Drink anything that’s not water with a straw.

Yes, the dental references are getting a bit severe, but please bear with me. I learned the hard way that no matter how hard I brush my teeth or do so regularly, my teeth and gums do not do well with my love for fruit juice. Well, there was no way I was putting off my daily morning glass of apple juice because of measly cavities. So, what solution did I come up with? Using a straw of course! My mind was blown when I figured out this simple little trick. By nature of the mechanism of a straw, sweet drinks have less contact with your teeth, which reduces the chance of enamel erosion. This means fewer dentist bills and a brighter smile as you approach midlife and beyond. You’re welcome.

4. Teenagers are absolutely terrifying and there is nothing wrong with being scared of them.

This is another de facto point that confirmed that I had reached the final boss level of ultimate adulthood. You know what I’m talking about. That moment when you are walking by yourself in the mall and see a bunch of teenagers coming toward you, who immediately stop talking amongst themselves the moment your paths cross.

That should suffice to give you PTSD for that whole week right? Nope. There’s more. Usually, after passing you completely, one of them whispers something that sounds eerily (or paranoically) like, “Get a load of what that lady is wearing, what a bum! Old folks these days sure are hilarious!” Or maybe it was, “Did you see the ancient device she had in her hand?” To which another one replies, “I know right, so freaking hilarious!” And then, you guessed it, they all erupt in loud and condescending laughter. Does this sound like paranoia? Maybe. All I know is that ever since I turned 21, I make a beeline towards the opposite direction whenever I see pesky teens coming my way.

5. You deliberately make time for the things that matter to you the most.

Self-discipline is something we all struggle with in one form or the other. One thing I have realized that helps me get necessary things done, is by reframing my mind into believing that those things matter to me as much as other quotidian, yet vital activities.

Take showering for example. No matter how busy a day gets for me, I always somehow find the time and motivation to shower at least once every single day. This is because it is an ingrained habit that I view as essential as eating, so it is practically impossible for me not to find time to do it.

You can use the same mindset for things like exercising, journaling and even reading challenging books. All it takes is the long and arduous (but totally worth it) task of “fooling” your brain into thinking that you need these activities for survival, and therefore must get them done no matter what. I successfully did this with exercising, making sure to go to the gym at least once every week. I believe that you can do it too.

--

--