MY MUN EXPERIENCE

Salina
2 min readMay 9, 2020

--

So, I recently participated in an MUN and it was a delightful experience.You might not be familiar with the term MUN so what is an MUN? MUN (Model United Nation) is an academic activity for students generally held for 3 days. I went to KWS Model UN as a delegate of Brazil in the committee DISEC (Disarmament and International Security Committee).

In this MUN I got to learn about the economic condition and military expenditure of Brazil. The main agenda of our committee was “Reduction Of Military Expenses” as in most of the countries the military expenditure is more than the expenditure in education which is one of the major problem suffered by many countries. Different countries brought up the effects of having high military expenditure and the countries signed various treaties to eliminate this problem and agreed on several resolutions.

This MUN was very productive and entertaining as well. Along with formal sessions several informal sessions were also held where people embraced their talents like singing, poetry etc. All three days entertaining programs like game night, acoustic night , delegate dance were held in the evening. Our Dias members were very experienced and made sure that we were enjoying the MUN.

Participating in this MUN helped me develop leadership skills, research,writing,public speaking and problem solving skills. This MUN also taught me to learn history in a fun way and helped me gain confidence to express myself. I got the opportunity to meet various young and talented people.Therefore, I had a marvelous experience in this MUN and I’m really looking forward for the next MUN.

--

--