8 Top Reasons To Use The New Elements In HTML5

girl learning tech

--

I have restarted my HTML5 studies as soon as I start publishing my articles in Medium. Among the content that I have sought to understand better the semantics and structure of this markup language are websites, courses, and books. And it was in the last of them that I came upon a rather strange statement. “Do not use the new elements in HTML5. You don’t need them.” WHAT!?

Perhaps you don’t know, but I’m just a beginner in code, and this statement made me think about my HTML studies during the last year. I wasn’t doing an amazing job, just take some lessons once in a while. But the simplicity or superficiality that some courses imply in HTML made me believed that I was mastering the subject. And hardly remember to use any new elements in my HTML code. The impression that I knew a lot about the topic came from many sources that teach the basic of the HTML structure and jump you to CSS and Javascript. Maybe I did the wrong courses, many of them. It’s a shame to admit, but from what I knew about HTML, I had the idea that any problem building my blocks could and should be fixed mainly by CSS.

That was when I bumped into an article by Anselm Hannemann in Smashing Magazine talking about the difficulty of finding job candidates with a good notion in markups and semantics.

“I had the chance to review about

--

--