Front-end, Back-end, Full-stack. What Exactly Are We Talking About?

girl learning tech
7 min readNov 29, 2018

When I start looking around for information about web development I wasn’t quite sure what exactly were the skills I should have to change my career for this field. I remember that I did some job searches and all the information was overwhelming, not just for the number of abilities and languages required, but for the different of job title I found for pretty similar functions. Front-end, Back-end, Full-stack, WHAT? Of course, these are not the only ones that you are going to see when searching for jobs information. But for sure, they are the most common terms for a web developer position.

So, why do we need to use many definitions for a developer?

Each one of the titles is used for specific skills of the employee. The Web is growing fast and becoming more and more complex. Following that path, the job of a programmer has become more specialized in some part of the development process. It means that for each different attribute of a Web application, some specific programming languages, frameworks, or any technical expertise we have a particular job title for the developer that will execute it.

For a newbie or beginner trying to find your way in the area, you need to understand what are the differences from a Front-end, Back-end, and…

--

--