5 things I’ve learned at SMXL 2017

Giuseppe Caltabiano
2 min readNov 17, 2017

--

First, I’ve learned that the Italian SEO community is small circle of badass experts, has a huge reputation and is super respected internationally. I’ve met lots of incredible SEO folks and I’ve attended so many great sessions. The level of SEO knowledge here is just impressive. I’ve learned a lot, and I invite all of you (the 5 readers of this blog) to get to the SMXL site and to look for the presentation decks once they will be made available. Some were really remarkable. Hat tip to the Italian SEO community.

Second, I’ve learned that the folks who have organised this event are a small team of professionals who have put a lot of passion with the event organisation and have made something special with a very personal touch. Yes, there might be some space for improvement, but what on earth hasn’t things to be improved? Well done, Sante and team. And thanks again for having me as part of SMXL speakers lineup.

Third, I have learned that most of the Italians attending were super-fluent in English and the simultaneous translation was used mainly by non-Italians to understand local speakers. And I was very proud of it.

Fourth, I have leaned that very few speakers addressed content marketing or content strategy as a topic; and that there is still a lot of confusion about social media. Social media are a content distribution channel. One of the many. Without a solid content strategy you won’t go anywhere. But still many presenters addressed social media as it was the atomic particle of their strategy. That should be content, instead.

Fifth, I’ve learned that there are still social media stars in Italy. They talk about stuff like hashtag, impressions and viral things. One session was even called “meet the media stars”… And the worst thing was that I saw many youngsters taking selfies with them.

Finally, my session. I’ve learned that after presenting so many times in English, I need to make a much better job whenever I switch to Italian, which ironically is my mother language. Also, I’ve learned that the topic (how to apply principles of psychology to design, content and social media) has generated lot of interest, questions and contacts. The deck is here (http://bit.ly/psychologysmxl) just in case you want to have a look.

Originally published at Vagabonding. Marketing. Tales..

--

--

Giuseppe Caltabiano

Global Marketing strategist, keynote speaker & writer. Italian, I live in London. www.marketingacrossborders.blog.