The OA | Review (no-spoilers) — It’s weird AF and just as wonderful.

Ben Johnson
5 min readJan 22, 2017

So I’d seen a fair bit of chatter online in the build up to the release of this but being honest hadn’t paid it much attention. I was amid the likes of Narcos and then Shooter and with a couple of series on the go, I avoid taking on any more. Largerly for the fact it’s too damn confusing following multiple plots in one go. Chicago Fire suffered this fate after I slowly lost touch in favour of re-watching Fringe and ploughing through the behemoth that is Sons of Anarchy.

Most of what I’d seen revolved around the central premise of “what the fuck is The OA?”. It seemed people hadn’t got a clue what it was about and based on that alone, you have to tip a cap to the marketeers behind it’s release. They played the “Tell them nothing, drive them mad” card perfectly. Without seeing the series anybody could happily argue that this was no more than a marketing stunt. However having watched it in its entirety now I can say it’s so much more than that. The pre-release build up is almost like training for us, the audience. Or at the very least that’s how I view it. If you’re sat there wondering what on earth I mean by that, read on and don’t panic there’s no spoilers.

The pre-release build up is almost like training for us, the audience.

To give you a bit of insight and forewarning, you will spend the first 2 or 3 episodes with a perpetually bemused, confused and somewhat frustrated expression across your face. Possibly even calling the friend you know that’s watched it to triple check you haven’t completely missed the point. Imagine Simon Pegg’s expression in most of his movies and you’re probably close to how I looked by the end of episode one and then before, during and after the next two beyond that.

“…you will spend the first 2 or 3 episodes with a perpetually bemused, confused and somewhat frustrated expression across your face.”

So what did I mean by training us as the audience with their pre-release marketing? Essentially it keys in with the plot in a very tidy fashion and the premise around which the show unfolds across the 8 “Chapters”. The description on Netflix reads:

“A woman missing for seven years turns up at a hospital with strange scars on her back but can’t — or won’t — reveal where she’s been.”

From this you know virtually nothing and you are in the same boat as every other character in the show bar “Prairie”, the lead played by Brit Marling (Who coincidentally was one of the creators of the show). So there you are, sitting down for episode one, a girl returns after 7 years missing and won’t say what happened but doesn’t claim to have amnesia or anything of the sort. You are then taken on a journey along with the rest of the inhabitants of the OA world as it unravels and you learn the truth.

“…you know virtually nothing and you are in the same boat as every other character in the show…”

I’d be lying if I said The OA is everyone’s cup of tea. It’s not. In fact I’d almost go as far as to say it will develop quite the cult following if it does progress in to season two, three or beyond. I’d safely say if you liked series such as The Missing and Stranger Things or slow burners like The Night Of then you’ll probably get along with this. Incidentally the lead actor in The Night Of, Riz Ahmed pops up in The OA which was a bonus. I grew fond of him as an actor after that epic 8 part HBO series.

**Warning — Walking Dead Season 4 spoiler!! Skip next paragraph to avoid massive shock and utter devestation**

Other familiar faces among the cast that you may be interested in are non other than old man, farm owner Hershal from The Walking Dead. Nice to see his head attached to his body again. Made me a tad nostalgic for the glory days in the prison to be honest. The bad guy so to speak, who I didn’t actually hate or view as all that bad in a lot of ways (watch it and you may get where I’m coming from), was cowardly death eater Lucius Malfoy; otherwise known as Jason Isaacs to the muggle community. Despite the 20th century muggle hair cut and proper clothes he wasn’t fooling me though. Remains of the Dark Lord still ran through his veins, you could tell.

“…it will develop quite the cult following if it does progress in to season two, three or beyond.”

Overall I really got on board with the premise. Upon finishing the series I was actually pointed in the direction of The OA’s own Instagram account by another member of the medium community (Daniel Holliday) in an piece he’d written on the mindsets of modern day event TV. You can see that full article here, it’s worth a read! The OA Instagram account is also 100% worth checking out if not just to admire the profile page for a good 5 minutes without ever clicking in to an image. The whole thing was crafted and uploaded purely for the release build up. They haven’t posted since the 11th of January. If they did it would totally yard sale the masterpiece.

I’d give The OA a promising 8.2/10.

My reasoning behind this? It had me asking a million questions to the invisible friend in the room (I was alone when I watched it. Needless to say the cat didn’t reply and was no use at all). I enjoyed the cinematography greatly. I’d skirt around a spoiler by simply saying they handled the visual representation of the supernatural in a very elegant way. I found the way the characters in the show chased theories throughout to be involving. Felt like I was learning, theorises and discovering with them. Then to finish some of the revelations that are made in the final episode are very decent. Had me questioning everything I’d concluded from the seven episodes prior. That’s a good thing.

A few warnings:

  1. It’s weird AF to begin with. Just roll with it and invest. It’s worth it
  2. It’s weird AF in the middle, by this point though you will have accepted it.
  3. There’s some very bizarre choreography. I’ll say no more on that matter.
  4. It makes you question your existence, both present and future.
  5. It’s weird AF toward the end too. Seriously, remain open minded or you’ll finish disappointed and confused.

--

--

Ben Johnson

I’d rather leave work with a smile than get there in a Ferrari. But if you’re offering I’d like to discuss what colour it will be…