How to Write a Good Cover Letter? The Best Samples & Guides

Sadece Unofficial
5 min readDec 7, 2022

We all get signs of regret when a client doesn’t respond to our cover letter for a job we always wanted. Although, the problem lies in our own hands. The cover letter plays a vital role in getting an appointment for a professional career.

In this article, we have come up with some generic cover letter examples.

What Is a Cover Letter?

A cover letter is an application that an individual submits to a company or an agency for a particular job. It defines you, your skills, expertise, and experience in a field.

For most, the cover letter is just about copying a template and changing some formats. You already know the rest of the story. But that’s not the right way to submit a cover letter. It should be unique and genuine.

How To Write a Cover Letter For An Internship?

Are you an undergraduate student looking for an internship? Then, we have a sample for you regarding submitting a cover letter to a company.

[DATE]

To

[NAME]

[ADDRESS]

Dear [SURNAME],

I’m willing to show my interest in the Project Management Internship with your Management team. I learned about your company through a newspaper. With that said, I visited your website and indulged myself in working for a Construction Company.

As a Civil Engineering Student at the University of Karachi, I have developed skills in Constructional Management, Marketing, and Analyzing. I currently hold a CGPA of 3.

I believe being genuine and nurturing, along with being professional and driven, is essential for people in my field. I possess skills in schematics development, construction design, system integration, and investigating failures. Additionally, my abilities extend to communication and critical thinking with proficiency in decision-making.

I have two semesters left, and after that, I plan to work with a company like yours to sprout my experience and abilities to work with more firms. With that said, it will diversify my working experience and help me achieve my desired goals for the future.

I want to contribute to my time by conversing with you about the internship position. Thanks for considering.

Sincerely,

[YOUR NAME]

How To Address a Cover Letter Without A Name?

So, you couldn’t find the hiring manager’s name to mention on your resume cover letter. Instead of leaving it empty, don’t ejaculate anything. You can address it with the following terms: -

  • Dear HR Manager
  • Dear Head of Marketing
  • Dear Head of Engineering Department
  • Dear Project Manager at [POSITION] Department

This way, you can personalize your cover letter in a much better way than typing something inappropriate and unprofessional.

What’s The Cover Letter For A Job?

Before submitting your cover letter, you need to learn about the company you are applying to. Here are a few elements you should consider when writing a cover letter to a company.

  1. Start with a header, which should include your name, LinkedIn Profile (Optional), Website (Optional), Number, and email address.
  2. When you are starting your cover letter, make sure to begin by mentioning the hiring manager’s name. Such as Dear Josh or Hiring Manager.
  3. When writing the opening paragraph, show your interest in the position, where you found this job, or mention any referral. It shouldn’t be longer than 2–3 lines.
  4. Mention your achievements and experience in the same position, and make yourself stand out in the body paragraph.
  5. Summarize your cover letter in the final paragraph and show them why you’re a strong candidate for this job. End your cover letter with a call to action and thank the hiring manager for consideration.

What Is The Purpose of a Cover Letter?

A cover letter defines your interest in a particular job in a company or industry. Your resume will sound more promising and exciting for recruiting managers when reviewing the resumes on the desk.

In addition, it directly communicates with the employers and showcases your talent more prominently to them.

What Should a Cover Letter Say?

As mentioned above, a perfect cover letter should have an attention-grabbing intro line. Here are four things that you should keep in mind before writing a cover letter.

  • In which you are applying for the job.
  • What’s the purpose of this cover letter?
  • Why this company?
  • What’s your ideal goal?
  • Do you find yourself a good fit for the role?

How to Write a Cover Letter for a Job with No Experience?

Are you an entry-level candidate and looking for a job? Then you can follow the sample below.

Dear [SURNAME],

I was motivated to contact you upon learning that the Engineering Department has an opening for a new Electrical Engineer in Training. For several years, I have focused my career path and academic pursuits on Electrical Engineering and completing of Bachelor of Engineering program with Hamdard University. As a personal mission, I strive to empower and improve others’ outlooks and life circumstances.

During my graduation, I volunteered at different events and organizations, which will benefit me in this role in your company. I was also the lead member of the society, which can help me handle the teamwork in this particular job.

With that said, I find myself a good candidate for this job as I’ve previously worked as an Intern with your partnered company.

For further details of my qualifications, background, and contributions, please take a moment to review my enclosed resume. I can successfully be the Electrical Engineer in Training you’re seeking, and I welcome the opportunity to speak with you at your earliest convenience.

Sincerely,

[YOUR NAME]

How to Begin a Cover Letter for Employment?

Example 1:

I found this very interesting and related to my experience and background. The company provides an opportunity for the Sales Executive Manager position, similar to my past employment. That’s why I find myself an excellent fit for this job.

Example 2:

I stumbled on your job listing, as you’re looking for a Content Manager for your agency. It was a referral from my friend Alex, who works for your company. It is a role where I can expand my skills and benefit the company.

Example 3:

My name is John, and I am interested in your company’s Sales Department Manager position. With that said, I have experience of more than 2-years in the Sales Department and would like to contribute my skills and expertise to your company.

Final Verdict

The cover letter has become an important tool, which improves the outlook of your resume for a particular job. It has become a marketing tool for getting hired by a company you desire. Moreover, you can look at the samples above and grab an idea from them.

--

--