The Art of Interview: An Interview Guide

Sadece Unofficial
7 min readDec 2, 2022

The interview is the most important part of your job search. It’s your chance to sell yourself, your skills, and your personality to a potential employer.

And since you only get one shot at each interview, it’s crucial that you do everything right!

So if you want to make sure that every step of the job-search process goes off without a hitch, keep reading for our complete guide on how to ace an interview.

1. Before The Interview

Before you go into the interview, you can prepare by learning about the company and knowing what you want to say.

  • Research the company online for information about its products, services and mission statement. This will give you a better understanding of who they are as a company so that when they ask why they should hire you it will be easier for them to understand why they should hire someone like yourself.
  • Practice telling your story in an interesting way that shows off your personality while also highlighting what makes your skills relevant to their needs. The more specific examples of past experiences at work or school that link back to specific skills required by this position, the stronger of an impression on them during the interview process!

2. When to Be There

Be on time. If you know what the interview time is, be there at least ten minutes before it begins. You don’t want to keep the interviewer waiting just because you are late; so be sure to set aside enough time for parking, walking from your car and getting settled in beforehand.

How early should you be for an interview?

Being early also gives you an opportunity to collect yourself before the interview begins and get a feel for what kind of atmosphere exists at that company.

If you’re not sure about when exactly the interview will start, then get there right at the beginning of business hours (which may be 8:30 am or 10:00 am, depending on where you are).

This way there won’t be any question as to why someone who showed up only ten minutes late was turned away while others who arrived fifteen minutes earlier were able to go inside and sign in with security guards or receptionists without any problems whatsoever!

3. What to wear

Dressing professionally is a must, but don’t be afraid of colour. Don’t go overboard on accessories (especially jewellery), but don’t feel like you can’t wear any at all!

For example, if your interview is in the morning and you have a great necklace or earrings that will grab attention away from your outfit, put them on! Just make sure they are not distracting and they aren’t too flashy (think simple!).

4. What to Bring

  • A copy of your resume. Don’t just hand it to the interviewer; they’ll have to read it later anyway, so you might as well have them look at it while they’re talking with you.
  • A list of references (name and contact information). You will likely be asked if you have any professional references, so being able to provide one will help the interview go smoothly and allow the interviewer to see that you take this part of your job seriously, which could make them want to hire you even more!
  • Pens and paper in case notes are needed during or after an interview.
  • Questions for yourself about what the company does or how its products/services work — this shows initiative on your part! You don’t want any surprises when it comes time for an interview; being prepared will also help relax nerves before conducting an interview at all

5. How Long do Interviews Last?

Depending on what you’re interviewing for, the length of the interview can vary. For instance, an entry-level position will likely require a shorter interview than someone hiring for a senior leadership role.

6. During The Interview

Your interviewer has put a lot of thought and planning into the interview, so make sure you give her your full attention and respect. Don’t interrupt or bring up anything that’s not directly related to the question at hand. Also, be polite and respectful to the interviewer at all times — this will help build rapport, which is important for getting hired in any field!

It can be intimidating when you’re sitting across from someone who’s in charge of hiring people. Don’t let this intimidate you into saying something stupid or being rude. Remember: they want to hire you as much as you want them to, so don’t act like it’s all up to them because it isn’t!

7. How to Answer the Most Common Interview Questions

  • Be prepared and practice your answers. If a question comes up that you haven’t anticipated, answer it honestly, but also be prepared to discuss your strengths in the area.
  • Ask questions as well — if you don’t know much about an employer or role, ask them! This can also help make you stand out from other candidates who may be interviewing for similar positions at the same time.
  • Don’t get nervous and forget your answers. It’s easy to get flustered when asked unexpected questions or feel like you’re being grilled by an interviewer who is particularly hard to please (not every interviewer will be this way!). Take a few deep breaths before responding so that you don’t let nerves take over, which will only make things worse.

Don’t give an answer that could negatively affect their opinion of you: For example, if I was interviewing someone who had previously been fired from another job because they were chronically late and unorganized with their work tasks, then my first instinct would probably be to pass on hiring this person — even though I might need someone with those same qualities right now due to recent changes at work that have left us shorthanded on projects!

The Most Common Interview Questions

Here are some of the most common interview questions and how to answer them.

  • Tell me about yourself.

“I am a hardworking and dedicated individual with a passion for helping others. I have extensive experience working in the health care field and enjoy assisting people with their medical needs.”

“When I was younger, I always loved helping my mom with her garden. It taught me a lot about hard work and patience — but also how rewarding it can be to see something grow from nothing! I’m hoping that working for your company will give me similar experiences.”

  • What are your strengths?

“My strengths are the organization, creativity, and a positive attitude.”

“I’m organized, detail-oriented and always looking for ways to improve processes.”

  • What are your weaknesses?

“My weakness is that I’m a perfectionist. This has helped me achieve great results but it also means that I sometimes take too long to finish projects.”

“I would say that my biggest weakness is my tendency to procrastinate.”

  • How would you describe yourself?

“I am a hard worker who takes pride in my work. I always aim for excellence and strive to achieve it.”

“I am very organized and efficient.”

  • How would your boss or co-workers describe you?

“My boss would say that I’m very reliable, dependable, and trustworthy.”

“My co-workers would say that I’m detail-oriented, always looking for ways to improve processes.”

  • How would your co-workers describe you?

“My co-workers would say that I’m very efficient and thorough.”

“I take pride in my work and always strive to do the best possible job.”

  • What are your strengths?

“I am very organized and efficient.”

“I’m a hard worker who takes pride in my work.”

  • How do you handle stress?

“I like to take time away from work to clear my head.”

“I will often go for a walk or listen to music while I’m on vacation.”

  • What has been your biggest accomplishment?

“My biggest accomplishment is starting my own business and building it into what it is today.”

  • Do you have any specific goals in mind?

“I’d like to find a job that provides steady work with a good salary and benefits.”

  • How would you describe your work ethic?

“I am very dedicated to my job and always strive for excellence.”

“I like to be busy, so I can work on several projects at once.”

8. How to Follow Up After An Interview

If you have a chance to do so, it’s a good idea to follow up with the interviewer within 24 hours of the interview.

You could send an email or make a quick phone call. The main reason is to thank them for their time and let them know how interested you are in the position.

You should also ask if they have any questions about your application or background. This will show that you care about what they think and are still thinking about them (and perhaps hoping they’ll make an offer).

One important note: don’t be overly formal when following up after an interview! Make sure that your tone is friendly and professional, but don’t worry too much about being 100% correct with every word choice.

Conclusion

We hope this has helped you in your job search. Remember, the interview process is a two-way street: you have to sell yourself to your potential employer as much as they have to sell their company to you.

Keep in mind what’s important for each side, and use that knowledge to make sure that the right people get hired into great positions!

--

--