Ocean

James Mullen
Apr 30, 2023

She crashes upon me
Unannounced
Leaving me dripping
Watching her slide away
Receding with elongating tendrils
Clinging to me
Longing looks in the whitecaps
As she stretches for another pounce
I stand rooted in the sand
Sinking into her embrace
Entranced by her movement

As she draws away
I am left aching
For her touch
I lean into the breeze
Willing her to return
She teases
Lapping at my feet
Always holding my eyes
With her bubbling motion
I feel the strain
And start to pull my feet
From their snares
When she comes again
Unaware
And staggers me
To my knees

I kneel and lace my fingers
Through quick rivulets
Escaping back to her
Our dance defines us
Feeding my soul
Draining my will
Teasing, always teasing
With promises and power
Exotic and erotic
My pulsing
Passionate heart
The sea

--

--

James Mullen

Poet and writer. Please read, hopefully enjoy, share your thoughts and comments, and let the world know if you approve. Thanks!