Glen Austin
1 min readFeb 2, 2022

--

I agree, you solve problems with languages. The key is understanding the problem domain. I have worked in several problem domains over my career. ECommerce, reservations, pharmacy benefits, insurance, wholesale B2B, healthcare integration. Currently, I’m working in ECommerce. For Salesforce Commerce Cloud B2C, my technologies are JavaScript, Rhino (similar to node.js), proprietary tag languages which are extensions to HTML, REST services, basic HTTP/HTTPS, eCommerce security (OWASP). Languages are just the beginning of the complexity. The only languages that took a long time for me to learn were C++ and JavaScript. C++ because there are literally billions of potential language combinations possible because of the amount of statements supported. JavaScript was hard because it works differently from any other high level language I’ve used. The loose typing plus the function chaining allow it to operate very differently from traditional languages like C or Java, which have strict type checking. It broke my expected patterns.

--

--

Glen Austin

Intrepreneur and Thought Leader. I have worked for large companies for most of my 34 year career in technology, but have driven change everywhere I’ve been.