Incandescent

The Clothes Have No Emperor
1 min readApr 29, 2024

--

You can hide inside of shadows
You can melt into the wall
You can tiptoe through my china shop
Careening through it all.

But in my eyes
You will always shine.
Through all my days
That glow will still be mine.
To me, always you will be
Incandescent.

They can light a thousand candles
Fire rockets in the air
Launch mirrors into orbit
Just to grab the light that’s there.

But there’s no need
The sun is in the sky
Too bright to be
A star is passing by
To me, always you will be
Incandescent.

When at night the fire dies
And the cold seems much too long,
In the dark the embers lie,
Some may think the flame is gone …

But they’re all wrong!
You bring it back to life,
You bring me back my song,
You make me feel alive.
To me, always you will be,
Incandescent.

Incandescent, incandescent
You’re my candle in the sky
Incandescent, incandescent
From your light the sparks will fly
Incandescent, incandescent,
Incandescent, incandescent,
Incandescent,
Invite the light!

--

--