Global Nomads Alumni: Yassine

GNG Student Participant, Morocco

Global Nomads Group
2 min readNov 19, 2018

I learned about Global Nomads Group’s Campfire program from one of my favorite teachers at school, Mr. Mahfoud. The program was just like a real campfire: we all sat together to tell stories and get to know one another. Once we got started, I had endless questions to ask my peers! I was connected with a girl named Rebecca living in New York. At first I asked about Halloween and Easter and she asked me about my religion and our music. We realized that the media had been giving us a bad and limited story about each other’s cultures and lives. I was expecting there to be a big difference between us — but in reality, we are more similar than not.

During the whole experience, we improved our learning, listening, and storytelling skills. I learned how to ask clarifying questions, how to listen to others, and how to tell stories, which is not easy. Sharing stories about myself made me feel grateful and happy. The idea that someone else might have benefited from hearing my story was really awesome! I started understanding more about others, too: about their feelings, what they wanted to express, and that each person has a special way you can connect with them.

I am very grateful to Global Nomads Group for giving me the space to get information and share it too. As a global citizen, you have your own rights and responsibilities: one of your rights is to tell others about your culture, and one of your responsibilities is to listen to others and respect their cultures.

--

--

Global Nomads Group

Fostering dialogue and understanding among the world's youth.