Dear my high school seniors…

Gloria Zhu
2 min readAug 20, 2017

--

You’ve probably seen and read a lot of these rising articles. I know I did a year ago. I used to read a lot of them, but then I realized that they all say the same thing. I stopped reading them because they all said the same thing. And I might be saying the same thing here too, but instead of giving you a list of things you should/shouldn’t do in your senior year, here is one thing I want to emphasizes.

To most of you reading, you’re probably started school. You’re probably excited that it’s your last year, nervous about all the big decisions you’ll have to make, but you also can’t wait that you’re now just one step close to a new chapter.

College for most of you seems very exciting. It’ll be the first time you’re living on your own. The first time you get a real taste of freedom. Especially to all of you who don’t get to go out until 1 AM every night right now, I know you have the feeling of “I can’t wait until I go to college”, no matter how big or small.

That was me last year. Everyday, I was telling myself “I can’t wait to go to college so I can be free.” I can’t recall a day I did not say that. It’s really easy to wait for your future.

But now, two weeks before I leave for college, I find myself thinking about how much I’m going to miss my friends, my city, my own bed.

So what do I want to tell you? Don’t spend your whole year thinking “I can’t wait to get out of here.” Spend time with your friends, families, and even teachers. Now is really the chance to try new things. Especially after 2nd semester, go try out that Muay Thai class or pick up a new hobby. Go out on a drive with your friends. Make more plans to hang out. Learn how to code. Create a bucket list and cross everything off. This year will fly by. I promise that. You don’t want to spend most of it thinking about the future.

So whatever you do during your senior year, please promise me that you won’t be spending your free time thinking about how great it’s going to be Fall 2018. Go spend all your last moments in the moment.

(I’m not telling you all to drop your grades and go out 24/7. In fact, keep your grades up and work hard in applying to colleges. I’m always here if you need creating a solid college list or if you need another pair of eyes to look over your essays :) Feel free to hit me up on Facebook if you need help or share me your essays!)

--

--