Glory
3 min readDec 28, 2021

I feel lonely on Medium…and I dare not check my Stats!

I love writing. I love the freedom it brings, the ease it gives. One that can be compared to an embrace from a cool breeze or the ecstasy from swinging with open arms in a lush green, open field.

When writing, I’m totally shameless and true. I stay raw to avoid sugar-coating words. I like to think that the act of writing lies seems impossible to me ‘cause writing is more like a pure and pristine adventure. It offers time for sincere introspection and the last crime to commit is to tell a lie to myself or through my writings. Doing that denies me the opportunity of enjoying the warm comfort the arms of words on paper provide. So, I can’t lie.

Writing offers me the chance to communicate with my innermost being, hold frank conversations and face hard truths.Writing on strange subjects is always challenging. The amount of time spent carrying out research in order to produce content is often worth the while. And observing the life of activity around me in order to fuel my creative spirits, is fun! Having to put my thoughts and mind’s images to words and watch the words lead to more words and then a whole post, is simply magical. Having to hear the words spring up in my inner ear sometimes, is surprising. I guess the voices of the spirits of letters talk to me.

Writing gives me courage and makes me bold. My thoughts and opinions suddenly seem unchallengeable once spelt out. More like being cast in stone. It helps strengthen my voice ‘cause I first write, before I speak and by so doing, my scattered thoughts are placed in order.

Writing is rejuvenating. The art of writing is like a purifier, taking out the impurities I may harbour unknowingly in my heart and replacing the vacuum with new freshness. It’s always liberating to say the least.

Sitting to edit my raw thoughts teaches me patience and self-criticism. I write my truth and paint my world with my words. It’s only fascinating that humans are interested in this world of my words. Really interesting because I write for the audience of one, or two or for you, a few times. I hope to look back at this journey to pat my back at the toddle steps I took and hopefully, progress made.

The art of writing is like a living museum to me and I’m grateful for Medium and its storage capacity which holds unedited truths for years to come. The stats of wanna-be writers like me might be quite discouraging, so, I simply resist every urge to peep at it. Medium maybe silent for me but that’s quite alright, as the silence makes way for the flow of my thoughts, condensing and conserving same for generations to come.

Big shout out to tutors such as Tom Kuegler. We humbly learn and follow his steps and hope to make some dollars some day from our passion, just like he does — and then probably publish our own, ‘Medium paid me a $1000’ post.

Can I get an amen?

So, this is a big THANK YOU to Medium for holding my words for the year 2021♥️

Glory

The Creator’s Copycat, immortalising thoughts. I write personal essays on city adventures, growth and optimal living.