Layout Exercise

Grace Maust
2 min readAug 27, 2021

--

I ended up using the collage/magazine cut-out strategy. I wanted it to have a kind of editorial look, and I also wanted it to resemble stickers on instagram and snapchat stories.

I used Bookmania for the title and the heading and Futura for the body. I also used transparency, cropping, and rescaling to create some different layers and to create a little more interest since we were only supposed to use one image. I tried to be consistent with the lowercase type, but I felt that the body paragraphs were too difficult to read that way, so I’m not entirely sure if I like that or not.

This is what the poster looks like with some adjustments based on feedback in the critique. I darkened the background to allow the text to be more legible and I added some other collage elements as well. I also played around with the layers and fixed some colors in the transparencies to create some more depth. I think it’s much more interesting and the idea of it being a collage makes a lot more sense. I dont know if I like how dark it is, but with the text, it was difficult to have it be consistently legible with the shift in values within the picture. I tried using a darker color for the text, but just didn’t like it as much.

--

--