The rumored Google Pixel 5 XL

G.May
2 min readJul 11, 2020

--

Xiaomi Mi Mix, Lenovo Phab 2 Pro, Sony Ultra Z

So I enjoyed watching MKBHD’s recent “review” of the upcoming iPhone 12’s. Looks like apple is going back to the legacy iPhone 4 design, very cool! its the best phone design ever (IMHO)… I actually recently bought a used iPhone 5s for the same reason. I am an Android fan, always been. My daily driver has always been an Android since Cupcake… I enjoy iPhones, I have an iPhone 7s running some kind of Android.. just kidding, iOS 14 public beta 2. Most people around me, family and friends have iPhones. Great hardware… so so software… chill😁 bruh! iPhones are alright.

The Huawei Mate 20 X. Its a beast!

So this post is really a rant about the rumored Pixel 5 XL. Apparently, while Apple is making every effort reversing course with a probable 6.7 inch display iPhone 12, rumor has it that Pixel 5XL will have a 6.1 inch display. If this is true, and I hope it is not, I finna jump ship… ok maybe not, not willing to pay an arm and both legs for that new 6.7" iPhone 12. Seriously though, how is it that iPhone Maxes are just a normal thing and google does not have an equivalent?… and here is the worse thing for me… Back in the day, my iPhone peeps would always poke fan at my “phablets” … fast forward, iPhone Maxes are their favs 😒.
Any how, its simple, bigger screen == better UX! also why do we still call them “phones”. Recap… HTC HD2 (4.3"), Samsung Galaxy Note 2 (5.5"), Sony Xperia Ultra Z (6.4"), Honor Note 8 (6.6"), Lenovo Phab 2 Pro (6.4"), Google Nexus 6 (5.96"), Xiaomi Mi Mix (6.4"), Huawei Mate 20X (7.2"), Google Pixel 2 XL (6.0"), Google Pixel 4 XL (6.3"). Which of these was/is the best? Glad you asked… Mate 20 X hands down.. still use it.. brilliant 7" screen, 2 day battery… a beast!.. How I wish it was a Pixel … so it gravely disappoints me to see that its Apple is now all in on phablets... and Google is not.

I hope those rumors about the Pixel 5 XL are wrong...

Pixel 4 XL chilling on the Pixelbook.

--

--