Letting Go: Why do you sell your bags?

God Save The Bag
2 min readDec 5, 2023

--

My former Gaucho, now in my Mother’s collection

Prompted by a recession, a pandemic-fuelled luxury purchasing spree, and inflation, it seems like bags are staying on the shelves of pre-loved platforms for much longer than they used to. This has been going on since Q2 of this year. To make matters worse, luxury brands have reported a decline in revenues across the board since Q2, with the exception of a couple recession proof brands (*cough* Hermès).

That being said, everyone seems to be getting over their bags. People sell their bags for a plethora of reasons: insufficient funds, “getting money out of their investment”, keeping their bag collection relevant, curation, etc… Whatever the reason may be, it seems like it’s been the trend since late 2022 to cull one’s bags. It may also be prompted by increased sales in luxury bags by bored people stuck at home and unfettered by financial issues whilst they stayed at home in the early months of the Coco.

My YSL Belle De Jour, rarely used and forever gone :)

Many Youtubers, such as Justine Lecompte and Jessie’s Style, have even warned against selling one’s designer bags now as it is now a buyer’s market. You won’t pull the investment return that you could have expected during the pandemic. Though I don’t believe that’s the main concern with the individuals who still want to slim down their collections.

This cursed Valentino…

I myself have jumped onto the bandwagon. In the past two years, I cut my collection by more than for the following reasons:

  • Moving to London and the lack of space;
  • The purchase of my Hermès Kelly To Go;
  • Lack of relevance and use of some of the bags in my collection;
  • If they no longer give me joy and I wanted to better curate my collection to who I am now since I finished grad school. And;
  • The realization that some of my bags failed my Girl- Math test (check my story on Girl Math).

In the spirit of enjoying life with a little less, the next month’s articles are going to be about the bags I’ve sold.

So… how many bags did you sell and why?

Till next week,

God Save the Bag

--

--

God Save The Bag

Lover of bags, fashion, fine jewellery, and a cuppa. Check out my insta @godsavethebag