Why Lebanese cuisine is awesome

Ryan Balamurugan
3 min readFeb 7, 2024

--

You know when you had a long day, you sometimes might get a craving to eat one of your favourite foods. And honestly when you eat that kind of food that you might crave all day it just hits the right spot you know?

And I am gonna be talking about one of my favourite shops to eat at. I first got to know about the place around the first lockdown which was in 2020 (wow it's 2024, how time flies eh?). And we were super hungry, we didn’t know what to eat and we decided to go out and buy something.

But I wanted to go on a drive because I just finished online school and I needed a break. So my dad suggested a place he used to go around 11 years ago when he used to work near Elephant and Castle. He told me it was a Lebanese place that sold shawarmas.

And I was down for it but slightly sceptical because I never really heard of the place. So we went on the drive, I was getting hungrier by the minute. I kept on nagging my dad because I was getting impatient. Around 20 minutes passed and we arrived and I was shocked to see the sheer amount of people outside of the shop.

But I wondered “its such a small shop how are they managing”.

So me and my dad stepped out of the car and went to place our order, we got chicken shawarma and chips, and despite the massive queue, the food arrived pretty quickly. I quickly scurried through the bag and found my shawarma and stuffed my face.

I fell in love at that moment, everything felt so fresh and just so flavourful. The chips had a unique taste and the sauces that they smothered them in were just out of this world.

My dad also mentioned that the food “tasted exactly how it was 11 years ago” which was crazy to me because there were only like 4 guys working in the kitchen and a guy at the counter who memorised everyone's order without taking it down or asking again.

And normally I see the same faces go there every time and newcomers as well. And every time I go there it's the same freshness, the same taste, the same quantity and they do not skimp on anything.

It just goes to show that with real dedication and care into something you can make loyal customers come back again and again. And I think the place they’ve selected to put their shop is quite smart. You have office goers about 10 minutes away who will come at lunch for a quick bite to eat.

I can certainly learn a lot from these guys’ work ethic and model of their business, and I hope you can too, make sure to go to their restaurant “Lebanese Grill”.

--

--