Habits for Leading a Successful Life

Gokul
5 min readMay 10, 2024

Everyone has habits, some good and some bad. I’m not entirely sure how much they contribute to success in personal and professional life, but I strongly believe that these seven habits have the power to lead to success in both areas. Therefore, I will share my understanding and my real-life experiences.

Stephen Covey, the author of ‘The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People’, believes habits shape our future; changing them takes work but brings big rewards.

Here are the 7 habits of highly effective people:

Be Proactive

For me, being proactive means shaping our life’s story by making smart choices and taking proactive steps, using self-awareness, imagination, conscience, and independence, rather than simply following paths dictated by others. While some worries are beyond our control (circle of concern), we can actively shape and change what’s within our power (circle of influence) through proactive efforts.

In my own experience, I used to worry a lot and felt like I lacked specific skills in my career. During that time, I was stuck in the circle of concern, waiting for someone to come and guide me, but nothing happened. Eventually, I decided to take proactive steps to develop my skills without depending on others. I decided that I wanted to develop my skills on WordPress and reached out to a teammate to guide me. Now, I am no longer anxious about my skill development. Instead, I am working on developing them.

Be Proactive

Begin with the End in Mind

For me, “Begin with the End in Mind” means creating a personal mission statement that helps us prioritize what matters most and make decisions that align with our values, leading to greater happiness and satisfaction. Understanding both our current position and desired goals ensures that each step we take moves us in the right direction.

In my own experience, my team lead gave me a book called “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” to read so that I can grow in my personal and professional life. I considered this important and planned to write a blog once I finished reading the book. I have successfully completed reading the book and also finished writing the blog. My mission helped me to stay on track and complete this blog. This makes me happier and more satisfied with how I set my mission.

Put First Things First

For me, “Putting First Things First” means we should concentrate on what’s truly important, saying no to less essential commitments for a more balanced and fulfilling life. Organizing tasks by importance and urgency helps us manage time effectively and boosts productivity.

In my own experience, once during a meeting with my team, I received some negative feedback, saying I wasn’t doing my job well. That’s when I realized I needed to improve. I was doing too much without knowing what mattered most. So, I stopped everything, let go of what wasn’t important, and focused on what I really needed. Now, I feel more proactive. I spend time improving my skills, and my work has gotten better because of it.

Seek First To Understand, Then Understood

For me, “Seeking First to Understand, Then to Be Understood” means this habit is about being empathetic when we communicate. It means listening carefully and understanding others before we talk about our own ideas. When we focus on understanding first, it helps build trust and makes relationships stronger. This leads to better teamwork and cooperation.

In my own experience, once, I was quite confused about how to plan my skill development, especially when it came to learning WordPress. I wasn’t sure where to start. I shared my confusion with one of my team members, and he fully understood what I was saying. Eventually, he shared his experiences with WordPress and gave me a clear picture of how to proceed. His guidance was very useful for me. This interaction built trust and strengthened our relationship, leading to better teamwork and cooperation.

Think Win/Win

For me, “Thinking Win/Win” means always aiming for the benefit of all team members, not just myself, as true success comes from mutual satisfaction and collaboration rather than individual achievement. I think we need to work together to find solutions that satisfy everyone, ensuring both parties win and feel content, and promoting teamwork over competition.

In my own experience, last year, our team leader assigned me and another team member to organize a tour for our team. Initially, we had conflicts over task allocation, but we resolved them by discussing and dividing tasks based on our expertise. I handled logistics, while another team member managed finances. In the end, we successfully organized the tour, and our team members were highly satisfied with the outcome.

Synergize

For me, “Synergize” means that when people work together, they perform better than when working alone, much like plants growing together. Open communication and mutual trust help create this teamwork, sparking new ideas. In business, sharing ideas and working as a team lead to better solutions, just like in relationships where people understand and appreciate each other.

In my own experience, on the way home from the team tour, I shared the idea of conducting a workshop for students with my team lead. One day, he arranged a meeting to discuss the workshop. During the meeting, our team members shared their ideas openly and trusted each other, which helped create synergy. Each person contributed their ideas, and together, we turned that idea into reality.

Sharpen the Saw

For me, “Sharpen the Saw” means taking care of our bodies by eating well, resting, and exercising, which boosts our confidence and overall well-being. Finding peace through prayer or being in nature helps us feel calm and focused. Continuing to learn helps us make wise choices and improve our thinking. Being kind and working together to solve problems strengthens relationships and leads to long-term success.

In my own experience, several of our team members, including myself, were experiencing health issues such as fever and other continuous sickness. During that time, our team leader arranged a health development class for us to attend called Satvic Movement, which focused on healthy eating. This class helped us learn about nutritious foods and how to maintain a healthy body. By adopting healthier eating habits, we found ourselves better able to focus on our work without distractions and experienced an overall sense of well-being.

--

--