Butch Dias
2 min readAug 31, 2020

What’s In A Name?
© Butch Butch 08/30/2015

Remember as a kid the saying went, “Sticks and stones will break my bones, but names will never hurt me.” They lied. Names do hurt and they can also bless. Sharp words can cut like a knife and soothing words can edify and heal. Words can build you up or they can destroy you. People carry words their whole lifetime. It is like carrying a suitcase or back pack of rocks.

Emotional pain can hurt worse than physical pain. Some of the emotional pain I have gone through was worse than when I had a fractured back and fractures arm from an accident. That was easy than what I was going through. Most emotional pain comes from hurtful words. Negative words destroy and positive words build up. I don’t know anyone that likes to be cut down? Do you? I know I don’t. I have had more of my share in my life.

You usually crave attention or affirming words from someone close to you like a parent, relative, or a spouse. They don’t either give you any attention to you or they cut you down to nothing. You carry that hurt the rest of your life like a back pack of heavy rocks. You waste time hoping for a little acceptance from someone that will never give it to you. Then you only feel rejected.

You can speak life or death to someone. So speak life to someone today. If you have spoken negative words in the past, repent, forgive and speak life. Bless someone today. Blessings, Bd.

Butch Dias

Author, Writer, Marine Engineer, Soulwinner, and American Patriot.