To You, I Surrender

Theworldofchaos
1 min readJan 12, 2023

--

Photo taken by the author

When I saw you walk,

Walk into my life,

It was a bright summer afternoon,

And my world swarmed with bees and flowers.

When I saw you smile,

Smile a bit brighter,

The sunlight danced in the browns of your eyes,

And my heart skipped a beat.

When I heard you talk,

Talk about the wonders of your life,

I have never heard a prose so beautiful,

That it lingers in the air long after it’s recited.

When I felt your love,

Your heart beating with desire and longing,

I could feel nothing on that busy summer afternoon,

Except the warmth of your presence.

I never had any patience in love,

Saw no joy in waiting,

Why to be patient when I knew what I always knew?

But to you, I surrender.

Thank you for reading and hope you enjoyed the poem! Appreciate any comments/feedback :)

If you like this poem, please do check out my other poems and articles here

--

--