Lessons I Learnt from My Child’s First Year In College

Gomati Sekhar
3 min readAug 14, 2024

The first time my elder one was home from college, it was an eyeopener for all. Everything was great and glorious and I was thrilled to bits. Except that there was something that got me riled every time I crossed her room.

The bag was full of minor repair jobs — a broken button, a stitch opening up or something equally silly.

Why couldn’t she do it herself?

So my task this last summer vacation was getting her to go over some basic survival skills, which had conveniently got brushed aside when at home.

A stitch in time saves nine

First I got her to learn (most reluctantly) how to put a thread in a needle. Then how to sew a button and put a few stitches here and there.

It’s a skill all the kids heading to college, away from home, must learn. Nothing gender-centric or lofty.

Instead of rushing to the tailor and paying, they must know how to mend and sew. It’s faster and budget friendly.

Cook and feed yourself

Then came being able to cook and feed herself using basic ingredients. Nothing fancy but something edible and palatable for those days when she wanted to have something other than the cafeteria dishes.

--

--

Gomati Sekhar

Sharing lessons I've learned over the years from my experiences in different work environments. In short sharing bits of me as the words pour out.