5 Essential Products that DRASTICALLY Changed My Appearance

Edith González
5 min readAug 27, 2020

--

Believe me, I get it.

With a face like yours, it’s hard to find something that can be improved… but for those of us who rather not be that ONE duckling… *ahem*, but want to feel like a fresh dove flying across an open sky with wind lightly kissing our cheeks…

Here are some essential products that drastically changed my appearance (and hopefully yours) for the better — and no, sadly none of these products paid me for this; although I would not have minded at all if they did. :)

1. Better Body Foods- Refined Organic Coconut Oil

Imagine it.

After years and years of constant damage, your hair is dull, crunchy, and is full of split ends. It is just unmanageable, and when you can’t take it anymore — you decide to cut it.

If you were ANYTHING like me, it was a process that repeated itself over and over again.

That was it, it was over, and all bets were off.

Well, I just couldn’t live like that, and I whined and pleaded to my hair, “Is this how it’s supposed to be?” — The answer was a definite no .

Let me introduce to you what broke the cycle:

My own bottle of coconut oil that I refuse to use for cooking

I started using organic virgin oil on the ends of my hair, as a makeup remover, sometimes as a mouth wash, and a tiny bit of a moisturizer.

I became obsessed over its versatility!

It immediately left me with softer hair and lips, whiter teeth, and clearer skin. For only $4 on a bottle that lasts over a month, this product became my favorite.

2. CETAPHIL

Take care of your skin!

As someone who has eczema and combination skin, I should have done this sooner, but we all go through the time period that we have raw peeling skin all over our faces –RIGHT?

Maybe not, but the products that changed that for me were Cetaphil’s Gentle Skin Cleanser, and Daily Advance Lotion with Shea Butter.

My two almost-empty bottles of Cetaphil cleanser and lotions

Although on the pricier side of $12+ these are great products to invest in if you are starting a new skin regimen as a beginner. The products are perfect for sensitive and dry skin, and definitely helped reduce the oils on my face that caused acne.

3. Sunday Riley -Luna Sleeping Night Oil

This right here is my luxury item!

It is used for your skin at night to reduce pores and heal acne scars as you sleep. It uses many natural essential oils that can leave an earthy smell and it is best used after a quick warm- to cold shower.

My empty bottle of Sleep night oil, still pretty without the product!

This is the priciest item I have on my list at $55+ in places like Sephora or other makeup stores, but I was lucky enough to get this one and other items for $25 for my subscription to IPSY.

I highly recommend it since it leaves your face feeling so soft in the morning as though you already took a shower, and leaves it even softer when you do.

4. TUNGHO Simplicity Leather Belts For Women Polished Buckle Plus Size

I used to hate belts.

In the early 2000’s, my mother would always wrap chunky old brown belts around me, while pairing them up with long floor-length skirts.

Needless to say, I was traumatized.

My own belt that I use religiously

This belt, however, has managed to completely change my mind.

I’m a chunky gal, so belts still hadn’t appealed to me till recently when I decided to dress nicer.

This particular belt It is available on Amazon for $15+ and comes in plenty of colors and sizes.

Oh boy, does this belt help.

It has a nice simple design, but it is comfortable, and changes your silhouette and your outfit instantly.

Best of all: You can match the gold buckle to your jewelry and it will instantly make you look more put together!

5. Maui Moisture Hair Care Products

I have never been a fan of 2-in-one or 3-in-one shampoos and conditioners.

I did, however, fall victim to lingering towards the less pricey, hair –harming shampoos and conditioners that can be found in every grocery store everywhere for a bit too long.

To be honest, I still stay in the grocery store, but have found a way better alternative:

My personal favorite scents and items from the Maui hair collection

This hair care line is great for people who are just learning to care for their hair.

It is still more accessible than other high-end shampoos and conditioners, but it is a step above the rest of the ones on the shelves that are full of parabens and silicone that helps dry out hair.

These bottles retail around $7 in each store comes with a variety of scents and products that are vegan, paraben, and silicone free.

It personally has helped in breaking the cycle of drying out my hair and has now left it healing from the split ends and crunchy texture it had.

It is true to its name that it adds much needed moisture.

My hair is now shinier, stronger, and best of all, it smells good too!

EXPLORE!

I have plenty of products that could have gone on this list, but the ones above are the ones that yielded the most, and quickest results I had been looking for. Make sure to look and research what products best fit your needs and goals.

--

--