G(F)ood Grief
3 min readJul 6, 2020

As I get older, memories of my grandmother are fading. I can’t remember specific holidays with her, or activities I did with her (unless I am looking at pictures for proof of the event happening). The things I do remember though, are intertwined with one of the five senses — psychosomatic memory. There’s even a word for it! Did you know that it helps to have a specific scent, or taste while studying that you can recreate for the test? During college, I always studied for big things while eating a specific candy and when it came time to take the exam, I brought that candy.

Anyway, I digress, but it’s a very real phenomena, and it isn’t surprising to me that my strongest memories revolve around sound and taste.

I still remember what she sounded like when she called me on the phone to sing for my birthday (every single year, without fail).

I still remember what her house smelled like (this one isn’t as pleasant, admittedly). I also have very vivid memories of snacks I ate at her home, and with her.

One of them was gingersnaps and cream cheese. I think every older adult has gingersnaps in their home year-round. I remember it was summer the first time I had it. We had all gone over for some reason or another, and when we arrived there was a plate of gingersnaps and cream cheese on the table.

I don’t know how she thought of it, or where it came from either. Maybe it was one of those things where you just…use what you have in your fridge and hope for the best.

But I also remember thinking there was nothing more delicious than that simple snack. She paired it with grapefruit soda. Which…might have been the only flavor of soda she had at her home. It’s like that movie Ratatouille. Where you never think of eating strawberry and cheese in the same bite, but once you do its magic.That was gingersnaps and cream cheese

To this day, particularly around the holidays, if I buy or make gingersnaps, I always make sure to have cream cheese on hand. Try it.

Its funny to me, that while this isn’t a cute recipe (and was just something she threw together to try to entertain a hoard of kids that came over for the day), and it isn’t going to be written down and stored in a cute little box somewhere, it’s a recipe nonetheless. One that will be passed down. I don’t intend on having my own children, but I have a nephew and have extensive plans to introduce him to all the food I love. Including gingersnaps and cream cheese.

There are some traditions, some “Recipes”, that feel insignificant. This was just a blip on the radar. I’m sure my grandmother is rolling in her grave that THIS is what I remember. But…we don’t get to pick and choose our memories or how we remember people. And for me, it will always be this.

G(F)ood Grief

“Grief turns out to be a place none of us know until we reach it.” — Joan Didion