I Don’t Believe in Enlightenment

Elizabeth Rosenberg
3 min readJun 5, 2023

--

Is telling people you’re enlightened just another way of telling people you’re better than them?

I’m not gonna lie… There are a LOT of definitions for “enlightenment.”

There’s “The Enlightenment” also known as the great ‘Age of Reason’ — defined as the period of rigorous scientific, political and philosophical discourse that characterized European society during the ‘long’ 18th century.

Or enlightenment in Buddhism, defined as “the pinnacle of human development and potential where you have reached a state of perfect knowledge or wisdom, combined with infinite compassion.”

Or in spirituality where Eckhart Tolle says “Enlightenment means rising above thought, not falling back to a level below thought, the level of an animal or a plant. In the enlightened state, you still use your thinking mind when needed, but in a much more focused and effective way than before.”

As I continue on my spiritual journey, I believe less and less in enlightenment as I understand it. In the many books I’ve read, podcasts I’ve listened to, and classes I’ve taken, the overwhelming definition of “enlightenment” always includes something about the death of one’s ego.

Ego… another word with way too many meanings.

Webster defines ego as “the self especially as contrasted with another self or the world” and “a person’s self-esteem and self importance.”

But, when the spiritual world is talking about ego, they are often referring “your conscious mind barring your from having a universal experience” to “part of the human psyche that has an agenda that is at odds with our soul.”

I find this all to be a lot.

Early in my spiritual journey I was shown a map of consciousness and was told where I was on the chart. The chart was created by Sir David R. Hawkins, M.D., Ph.D. a nationally renowned psychiatrist, physician, researcher, spiritual teacher and lecturer. The person showing me the chart told me they were in the upper levels of consciousness… nearly enlightened. This also meant, I had a ways to go. They were clearly way above me.

Map of Consciousness

But this is the thing… If enlightenment is the death of ego, why are people who are enlightened always telling you they’re enlightened? Aren’t they doing that to prove to you that you’re not enlightened and they are, in essence, better than you? And if they’re better than you, isn’t that ego talking?

So, now you understand why I don’t believe in enlightenment. I don’t believe there is a top level we can get to. What I do believe is that we are all always leveling up. Every mediation we do. Every healing we experience. Every moment of joy we live. Every act of service we engage in. Not only do we ascend and become more full of Love and connect closer with our community, but we encourage those around us to ascend, grow and heal as well.

Enjoy the leveling up and your ascension, because that’s where we collectively will all grow. And the next time someone tells you they’re enlightened, give them a smile, and know they’re ascending as well… they’re human just like the rest of us and they’re not better than you.

--

--

Elizabeth Rosenberg

Elizabeth Rosenberg is a personal branding expert, strategic communications consultant, intuitive, and founder of The Good Advice Company.