Projecting Your Voice

Good with Money
2 min readMar 4, 2019

--

I was bopping along happily this morning when my phone rang. The message said boldly “NO CALLER ID”. Thinking it might be someone that I’m coordinating with for service positions in the 12-step program, I answered the phone.

Hmmm… the person was in a panic about finances and the first few sentences out of my mouth gave such offense that I was asked to stop talking. That was weird.

I stopped and did a quick prayer after the first abrupt call, asking for the ability to show compassion and understanding as I would to a sick friend.

A couple hours later when I called a friend, I heard her answer and say, “Shut up!” I thought it was the funny kind of that expression… the one that means, Oh man, you’ll never guess what just happened as you called! But she didn’t say anything like that.

Later, when I talked with her again, she clarified that she had said, “What’s up!”, not “Shut up!”

Why did I think that in the first place? She almost always answers with “What’s up!”

I’m learning that we are mirrors. What we put out, comes back.

I’m not really what started that first call, but after the shock of being confided in out of the blue, then abruptly told to stop talking, I felt like a little puppy that had been called in to play then smacked on the butt and shooed away.

There are definitely moments in a day when I like to think of myself as enlightened. Ha! Oh man. When I see something like that happen where I see how I can get so quickly knocked off balance, it keeps me humble.

That’s why healing is not a one-time thing. It’s a continual process of taking what comes our way and building our skills in handling it.

This was a clear example of projecting the voice I heard in the morning out ahead of me hours later. Paving the way for a rough time, when none was otherwise there.

The boomerang is a bitch. What can I say. What goes out comes right back at ya!

--

--

Good with Money

I used to do a great job managing my finances, but then I lost it. Join me on my 2019 journey on my quest to once again be “good with money”.