Why I Made An App That Feeds Poor Children.

Aditya Gopal Ganguly
2 min readFeb 5, 2015

No, the title of this article is not misleading to bring in more clicks. I really made an app that feeds poor children.

I launched it few days back. It’s an app that improves your vocabulary and a part of the revenue goes to feeding poor children. Every time someone visits the app, 10 paise is donated ( think Freerice).

But why I did this?

Because I always wanted to , be it my imaginary entrepreneurial venture of a t-shirt company where each different t-shirt would donate to a different organization or be it an app that improves vocabulary, if the margins aren’t too thin, then donating for a cause with every purchase, every session should be there in all the ventures.

But advertisement revenue is very low and most of the times apps do not make any money!!

Yes, I know that, and I also know 10 paise per session isn’t even what I earn right now but I hate banner ads, pop-up ads and am a firm believer in native advertisement and that’s what I plan to do, native advertisement between the words in my app, something that mixes well with the whole app experience.

There are no ads right now, I don’t even make any money (not a surprise) , where are the donations coming from.

From my own pocket, given the modest traffic received, I am not donating a fortune yet. Also, donations are to be made bimonthly, hence the date for first donation is more than a month away.

Does it have any impact on users?

Yes, users love the fact that they get to do some good work while doing good for themselves. Gamification might be a great way to engage users, but if you can make them feel good about themselves, nothing can beat that.

Am I looking for sponsorship?

Yes, Yes, Yes. In less than 10 days of launch, we made it to the front page of hackernews (thank you hackernews community for your compliments and constructive feedback). We have seen users from 90+ countries, 500+ downloads (different app stores like Amazon app store, 1market etc combined and also Firefox OS) and more than 2k+ views.

We are launching our first advertisement at an initial CPM rate of $5 (min campaign budget — $100) and given our humble traffic right now, your ad can be there for at least a month. Interested in sponsoring us? Click here.

Thanks for reading, you can try the app here.

--

--

Aditya Gopal Ganguly

Heading growth at Simulanis. Host of Tech Digest, Think About It. Ex — Founder at Brevity.