Thank you, Bruce Springsteen

Wendi Gordon
2 min readAug 22, 2021

I’ve never met Bruce Springsteen, but I owe him a huge debt of gratitude. His music has been my constant companion since high school, helping me celebrate good times and make it through hard times. From the time when I danced exuberantly to “Dancing in the Dark” with my then two-year-old sister when she entered my room and begged me to “dance Booce Tin-tin” in the early 1980’s to the time I cried as I listened to “I’ll See You in My Dreams” while driving home from my dad’s funeral a few months ago, Bruce has always been there.

Every time my husband calls me, I hear this excerpt from “Born to Run” as the ringtone: “Wendy let me in, I want to be your friend, I want to guard your dreams and visions.” Whenever I have to drive long distances, Bruce’s music provides the soundtrack I need to stay awake and enjoy the trip.

Nothing compares to seeing Bruce and the E Street Band perform live, though. I have been fortunate enough to see them on tour multiple times, and words just can’t convey how wonderful those experiences have been. When I lived in Hawaii, I flew to California for the sole purpose of going to a Bruce concert (two of them actually), and it was worth every penny! On the second night, I got to be in the Pit, close enough to the stage that I could almost reach out and touch Bruce. As the show ended, a fellow concert-goer and I shared the sentiment that it had been quite possibly the best night of our lives.

It’s not just Bruce’s music I admire. His autobiography and Springsteen on Broadway show have made…

--

--

Wendi Gordon

Freelance writer and mental health guide. Portfolio: https://bio.link/wendigordon. “Changing Lives” mental health newsletter: https://wendigordon.substack.com.