How To Start Social Media Marketing (SMMA) As A Beginner In 2020 — STEP BY STEP

Dan Walters
23 min readMay 5, 2020

--

So ladies and gentlemen, what a time to live. In today’s video, I’m going to show you how to become a social media marketing agency this year. Now, I want you to go ahead and shut everything off your tabs, because for the next 20, 30, 40 or 50 minutes, however, as long as this rule applies to, you are about to get information about the course of this year for you.

I’m going to share some things I’ve never revealed before about starting one social media marketing agency and if you stay to the end, I actually have a huge giveaway for you. I made one of these videos last year and there were quite a few giveaway winners from that, but okay for that is a giveaway to make sense, you have to see through it all video is not one of those videos that you are is going to click around, hit around for you. I don’t want your eyes glued to a screen every moment. I’m going to refer you here before bringing you here. And then we will also look out of my screen for this presentation. So let’s get right into it. How to start your social media marketing agency in 2020. This is what we are going to do to continue and cover. Is running a business right for you? Just ask that fairly basic question that I think many people don’t really cover. What is a social media marketing agency? How to find customers for your social contacts media marketing agency and how to provide service those customers.

This is how a company that suits you runs. Now let’s talk about the pros and cons. The pros, more free time, greater chance of higher income than traditionally enlarged. And if I say more likely, I just mean ridiculous, Lee just higher, you know, it really is night and day in terms of your, your earning potential, start a social media marketing agency, comparing to working a nine to five, being able to travel and work flexibly. Right now I’m actually here in Cape Town, South Africa decided to come here for three months. Actually a great one, great place to work. Uh, just a two hour time difference from London where I live.

Super easy so with team calls, customer calls, sales conversations with new potential customers. And all in all the nice weather, a lot of sun can complain. Many people who start a social media marketing agency have actually built it besides working a nine to five or studying or even being high school. You see, I started my social media marketing agency at the age of 16 and actually in early 2017 has mashed a scale to the point where I earned more than mine director who makes more than my teachers. And eventually I dropped out of school.

I don’t recommend it, but that’s the journey i had to make social media marketing and i have never looked back since. Now let’s talk about the negative. There is more responsibility. There is no guaranteed income. Now I run greed and calmly sow everything, that is the leading education company on earth for agency owners. And you know, I’ve had thousands of thousands of students and are very blunt and I want to be very transparent and honest with you, there are students who deserve to get a customer seen in the first month the work ethic they put in, given the number of customers they contact and they only get one customer.

And in month six, conversely, there are people who, to be honest, don’t really do that much work and probably deserve to get a customer within a month six but eventually got a customer in month one. There is always that bit of luck and timing no matter what company you work in, there is always something for you to take into account. The next thing is that you answer directly to yourself. Now for many people that’s a positive, but in many ways that can be a negative because you have to keep yourself responsible.

And that kind of brings us to the next point, what is mentally stressful. So what is a social media marketing agency or an SMA? Good, I kind of ruined it there. An SMA is a social media marketing agency. This is what SMA is not. It is not a formal company that requires an office worker or even a legal one company. Guys, I don’t have an office.

As you can see, I am here in Cape Town now. One of my employees flew out earlier this month to just drop by. You know, it’s nice to be one with your employees, but that’s another thing I want to mention is that you don’t need employees a social media marketing agency. You can literally work on contractors and you can scale those contractors so that those contractors can work you. You know, if you get two customers, three customers, four customers, five customers, and maybe if you have five customers and you have some kind of predictable base of it customers, you can take a contractor who works with you, you know, to deliver the results for customers and you can turn it into full time employee like I did.

Now, the next thing that SMA is not something that requires intense knowledge of digital marketing, SEO, Google ads, Snapchat ads, branding, content creation, and so on and so on. Now maybe be super confused. You’re like, well, I have an agency that delivers results for clients. All you need to understand is to have a social media marketing agency is that you can use something called contractor arbitration. Now remember I told you about that contractor I had who worked on three with me, four, five, six customer campaigns, and eventually I brought him to my desk full time. Good, I have an agency that shows ads for e-commerce and info prog companies, but I actually got my start with a creative agency. So I actually had a creative agency. I did video work, photo work, by posting it on social media, but when I switched to having an Honestly Facebook ad agency, I really wasn’t that good at Facebook ads and I brought my contractor and him actually all the results of my customers.

I just knew enough about Facebook ads to sell that to customers. And then I had my contractor deliver those results. Now these days, I know a lot about Facebook ads, but to be honest, that is from my own knowledge that was not necessary to grow my desk. And you can see a perfect example of this where there are two business partners and one business partner delivers the results and one business partner sells. Now I don’t recommend business partners when you start your social media marketing agency because it just makes it twice as hard to make the same amount money. But think about it. The person who sells has a good enough knowledge to understand the services and the business partner is doing the service.

You know, they are not very good at selling, they don’t really want to get involved in sales, but they are great at providing the services. That’s the advantage of having a contractor. Social media marketing is not about getting rich quick or you know, even make tons and tons of money. Many engage in social media marketing to earn an extra income. Look, like I said, I have students make $ 65,000 a month, $ 25,000 a month profit, $ 18,000 a month profit, $ 10,000 a month profit. And I don’t recommend this now, but after this video, go to my channel and i have tons and tons of student interviews and you can see their stories of how they start from scratch and their freedom of choice grew. But you have to understand that much my students just want to make something extra $ 2000 a month. I’d like to earn an extra $ 5,000 a month. A lot of time is not about making this huge, huge numbers and turning into multi-millionaires. Many people simply want to replace their current income with social media marketing revenue. And then social media marketing? It is a simple business model.

You run an agency that provides services to customers. It is nothing super interesting. Its not this weird hack or trick or tactic. You simply have a service based company that offers services to customers. Very easy. This can now be done anywhere in the world and you can offer your services to all companies in the world. This is another super important thing to remember. I see a lot of agency owners when they first start, you know, they think, oh, but you know, I live in a small city or I live in a small city or there are not enough leads around guys. I don’t see any of my clients face to face. I have all my sales calls on zoom. I have all my clients who check calls with the team on zoom, and to be honest, I never see clients face to face and I don’t care and I don’t care. I like to run my company remotely and that is also the way I teach all my lessons students agreed and see to do the same.

Here there are just a few gya greed and secret tips. One or two customers can replace your nine to five monthly income. Remember that. I always tell you are literally just one customer away. You are a customer away to quit your job. You are a customer away from that dream watch. You wanted to get your only customer out to get that dream car you wanted, whether that is the first customer or you already have several customers and you just need another customer to get that dream car you always wanted. Remember that. Keep that in your mind. You are a customer removed.

The next thing is that you don’t have to quit a job to start a social media marketing agency. It takes a fraction of a normal job and I recommend that if you currently have one nine to five stay with your work and build your desk on the side and the next getting started is the hardest bit. From then on, it is much easier. This is something super important to remember. I actually did a student interview and I talked about the difference between when you start your desk and if you actually have a desk. You see a lot of people will watch videos just like that and you know you enjoy all information. You are here in this training is going to change a lot for you, but you know a lot of people will watch this and then they will see you know, six seven, eight other videos and they will enjoy all this information and they will do this two, three months of mental preparation prepares and nothing happens. You know, they just procrastinate on their success.

Okay, and you know that example I gave you with a student for three months, he did exactly the same thing and eventually one day he decided, he told me the day it was January 10th he decided, okay, today I am going to start contacting companies. 24 days later he signed his first social media marketing client and he makes the same amount of a customer as he would have worked a nine to five job after obtaining a university degree. So get started. Okay, all you need is a laptop email and you just need a simple g-mail account and you need a social account. This is what you don’t need. Office software for employees, registered business diploma website. That’s also something I feel all of this is holding many people back. They feel they need a registered company. Now, I don’t know in your country, I know in America, in the UK you do not need to be a registered company. For example myself, I got my first agency customer in August 2016 and from August 2016 completely until April 2018 when the new personally rolled tax season, I actually acted as a sole trader, so I wasn’t working through a company or anything.

It was just me. I was clearly a taxpayer and that is important that you are a tax registered by it and have a company or a public limited company or this or that. I just operated like I did someone who works as a self-employed person so if that stops you, please don’t let it happen. Again, here are some more greedy and secret tips. The best agencies are the simplest. I really can’t emphasize this enough. I have seen so much freedom of choice owners there. I’ve seen so many full-service agencies making $ 20,000 a month income, but they are only when three go home, 4,000 a month profit because their, their agencies are so complex.

They participated in 10 different niches. They offer 10 different services that offer an upsell, a downsell. Everything is just everywhere. The best agencies on Earth are the simplest and most streamlined. So the next secret you don’t need a website, okay? But you can easily make one with click funnels. Go ahead and check out the link below. Get a 14 day free trial and I’m actually building a new agency website on it click on funnels. I also use click funnels for case study funnel for my agency, for my onboarding funnel.

I literally use click funnels for pretty much everything. And the next secret tip is that you can buy a personalized domain from $ 1 per year and a $ 5 a month Google G suite. I strong, strongly recommend doing this because for $ 5 a month instead of getting in touch to customers like one, you know, let’s say eamon@gmail.com that you can reach to clients like Eamon for example, agency.com you know you, your real desk name and you can call your desk whatever you want. Like I said, you don’t have to have your agency name as your registered company. For me, I was IgE media for two years before I even started using a company. And even to this day my registered company is not even my agency name I opera is another name.

So don’t let that scare you, just choose an agency name, whatever you want to make it. Don’t think about it, but definitely get a company domain because it just shows customers that you have one a little more serious and you are going to get a better answer when you reach looking forward to customers. How to find clients for your social media marketing agency, customer equals anyone who needs more customers. So step number one is choosing your niche. It’s easier to get in touch and get results for a particular type of customer.

Okay? Pick one you know a lot of, you understand and you already have some lead ideas for, and it can change boys. You know it doesn’t have to be set in stone. You can, You know, work with a niche for a few months and then realize that Hey, you don’t like working with them. And then you can change niches. Okay? As long as you don’t try to work with everyone under the sun, it is better to sharpen your focus and focus on a niche soap. In the United States alone, these 38,000 gyms, there are 200,000 dentists and 600,000 restaurants. So for anyone who thinks there is a shortage of customers, that’s just three niches in the US alone, 38,000 gyms, 200,000 dentists and 600,000 restaurants. There is no shortage of customers out there so you can lock up. So step two is to make a list. Okay? You want to take a bit of a head start list.

Okay, so you want to start locally, you can go wider later, but start locally and just create a google sheet or for now it doesn’t have to be complex. It could be a Google spreadsheet, it could be a Google document, Hey, it can even be pen and paper, but just write 10 to 20 companies, their company names, their phone numbers, their email addresses, website and Facebook and Instagram Pages. So make a list of 2030 to get started. So that’s the process of lead sourcing and basically just collecting a bunch of leads you want to reach out and just collect so much information about those leads possible so that you can have the highest chance to hold a meeting with them. Outreach. Okay, so choose your method, whether that’s cold calling, whether that is cold emailing, or even eight she likes on Instagram and if that sounds a bit weird and crazy. That’s actually how I mainly got most of my clients. My first five, six, seven, eight customers are simply called DM outreach. Nowadays on Instagram, I know you can record for like a minute and trops up to 15 seconds, but you can actually record for that long back in the day I just should do a 15 seconds send a 15 seconds, send a 15 seconds, send it and really, you know it was really very simple.

I’d just give them two two three tips and I’ll do that text and I’ll just go, Hey, I just saw you a few tips, a few places I think you are leaving money on the table. Now of course I can’t give you a full audit of your company in just three short paragraphs. That’s why I left the juiciest things for a one on one meeting. So I would like to arrange a time to make a quick cup of coffee, sit down talking about where you can make improvements to your social media marketing strategy and see if it makes sense for me to come in and implement those strategies for you. When it gets worse it gets worse and nothing comes of it you have literally had a free audit. You can run away and do as you wish. Now take it into account, this is back when i actually did one to one meetings. I stopped one-on-one sales calls in mid-2018 but then back I did one-on-one and doing the local business.

Now go ahead and make yourself a simple script. Really, if you stay until the end of this video, I’m going to make your life a lot easier, but like I said, don’t click forward. Stay alert, stay focused on training. Like I said at the end, I’m gonna make your life a lot, a lot easier because I have some bonuses for you. I said only because I got stuck to the end. The next thing is to set yourself a daily outreach goal and book a follow-up meeting. Now here is a very, very, very simple example, if you stay to the end, I’m going to give you some extra resources to really get you started and get you started on the way.

But simple outreach message is, Hey, my name is Eamon and i help restaurants get new customers. I just had to look at your website and I know you leave a lot money on the table in your company. I have great ideas for bringing in more customers. Would you like to discuss them? Is that this is actually about as easy as it gets. Something I would use more, like I said it’s something about the rules of those Instagram posts, that Instagram, DMS and little video DMS they sent for me, the important thing is sell the meeting, not the service. Let me repeat that because many beginners in social media make marketing that mistake. You are selling the meeting, not the service, so if you contact customers, don’t start talking about the benefits of your service, this or this or this or that. No, talk all about your service. You only sell the meeting and how the meeting has endless benefits they and actually zero down side. That’s why, you know, when I give the Instagram I went for example, Hey look, if nothing comes of this and you want to go ahead and take these strategies and implement it yourself, that’s completely fine.

I want to make sure this is a win win scenario for you. So that’s great, super important because it has to understand that these business owners are busy, respect their time, make sure the meeting is an absolute win-win for them. It is infinitely upside down with zero drawback, very important. Step four are now the meetings. Now meetings can be virtual, especially when abroad. As I said, I have all my sales meetings via zoom and you use another simple script, explain your proposal, sign client there and then and get paid an invoice and agree on a start date.

So I’m going to tell you a little bit more about the meetings. As I said, if you stay to the end, the thing with this free training is that we are on YouTube and YouTube. Everyone wants three minutes of the seven-minute video, the video of max. 10 minutes If it is a video of 10 minutes, it really stretches people’s attention span. So I’m going to try to keep it nice and short and give it bare bones in this YouTube workout. And like I said, very, very briefly, as soon as we get to the end of this training, I will go ahead and give you some extra resources to get you started.

So within the meeting, the first initial phase is the digging phase, right? You are here, you’re actually just digging and some information about their digging up company. Then you go to the movement phase, okay? Because you need, you really need to understand the ins and outs of their company and you actually go ahead and use that. You will use phase one to seal the deal in phase three. Now you have to understand those people buy with emotion and then they justify with logic. You see the most things on earth that you buy.

You don’t buy it for the thing, you buy it for the way it is going to make you feel or what it will be like change your future life difficulties. Think about the last time you bought a pair of shoes or you bought a computer or Hey she, while the last time you paid for college, you know you don’t really know pay for the information. You pay for the supposed future life it will give you.

And it is exactly the same with entrepreneurs. Every individual entrepreneur wants to make more money and they want to earn more money for a specific reason, or that is an upgrade from a three bedroom to a detached five bedroom house, whether it’s a new Rolex, whatever it may be, entrepreneurs want to earn more money to fulfill that vision their future life. So remember when you sell them, it is super important that you only focus on the features and benefits of at your service. Also future project and let them fantasize what life will look like once used at your service to get those results they want. So the next stage is logic. Now remember what I said, people buy with emotion and justify with logic. So you have to use that first stage, that digging phase to get numbers to understand their business and really make it clear why it is a good idea and that is when you use it in phase three the logical phase, the latter is close.

Very, very simple. If you did the first three things right, it should be a good idea and the closure, it doesn’t have to be difficult to sell or something like that. The most important thing when it comes to conclusion is like I said, making it a good idea, which makes it such an obvious decision and the way you do it. As I said, your future pace, your future project, what the future will look like after you come in and provide those services for them and you also confirm that with logic and at that moment it’s really one no brainer and that’s how you almost end up. Step five is so you rinse and repeat. You draw a clown who makes money for the customer and then that customer will go on and on give you referrals. And believe me, the longer you are in the agency game, the more referrals you get.

Rinse and repeat this process again and again. Here’s some more green secret tips from the agency. Number one, integrate zoom with your video calling calendar. If you have a Google calendar, you can get this integration for zoom and google calendar that way when you send a Google calendar invitation to someone’s email, it will automatically generate a zoom meeting. Super, super handy. That way you know they can go on their calendar, just press join zoom call and that way you will make the video call with them. The following is never free trials. Ladies and gentlemen, you should never understand the free trials convert because even if you get they results mentally, you need to understand expectations. They absolutely no longer pay 30 days for nothing and then you load them 1,002 thousand on $ 3,000 a month in their minds. They’re not like, oh, that’s super good. I have a month for free. In their minds they are like, I didn’t have to pay for this before and now I have to pay for this.

So trust me, trust me. Coming from the person who, like I said, runs the largest education company in the world for agency owners. I trained thousands and thousands of students. I tell you now that free trials are not turned into real pay customers. Another thing to note is the best customers are independent, okay? They are not chains.

They are high margins and a small team in charge. The next thing is to use billing software to make the customer pay there. And then, Okay, They are only a customer they have paid for the service. So how you can serve your customers. Step number one, choose your service. Okay, there are convenience offers and there are results-oriented offers. So a convenience offer can be content creation.

You know they can still virtually create their own content with them iPhone, this, that. But if you have a professional camera, it’s the ease of it, it’s you editing, and so on and so forth. Another example could be social media management. You know that we manage their social media that you post for them and you let the social media platforms grow. Now results-oriented service is something like paid social ads, email marketing and SEO. So I highly recommend you go for paid social ads. That’s the easiest place to start and usually that’s where you go the highest retention. As I said, with paid social ads, you get the most obvious ROI. It is the easiest to learn and there is no software cost because you can advertise directly with Facebook. Okay. Now you have two options. So choose your mode of service. Whether you outsource, and I’ve mentioned this before about outsourcing and using a contractor or you do it yourself. Outsourcing is easier to scale up. It is easier to start yourself. So then step number three is choose your delivery channel, whether it be Google ads, Facebook ads, YouTube ads, which is of course part of the Google ad platform, whether it be Snapchat ads, LinkedIn ads, tick-tock ads.

The easiest place to start with far is the Facebook channel. So the reason is because there are more users, which of course means more targeting. It is the most user-friendly platform. There is native lead generation. I’d say that’s probably the number one reason. Step number four, create your business facebook account and integrate client, like i said, create a business Facebook account, request access to customer page by business manager and create ad accounts. Very important use of the customer payment method. You never, ever want to charge for advertising expenses. You only charge your service costs and then the customer connects his card their business managers, so if you were an ad to them, they are billed directly. You don’t want to handle that money. It’s a nightmare. It’s a mess. Instead of just letting your customers pay directly to the ad manager. Step number five is to create your ads. You go in, you press the button at the top right and it says only create campaign. If you are within ads manager of the considerations you choose lead generation. This actually tells Facebook what is the purpose of this ad.

Then you create your audience, you said your demographics, location, age, gender, et. For example, you work with the gym. You can put that postcode literally or you can enter that street plus a mile and instead you can target locations and then you make your budget. Now in terms of assets, which means you know the images and the photos, your customer delivers the assets in terms of the copy, you know the actual writing for the ad. You do that yourself in terms of demographic decline will tell you what their is demographic and that will give you a good kind of compass on what direction to look in and then you can tweak a little bit from there.

The next step is to create your ad. Now you want to write a convincing copy there. Relates to your audience. Long form always works better than spicy slogans that you don’t want to use with stock Pictures. Okay, use lifestyle content, simple tests. Would you put it on your own timeline? The key and the number one tip I can give you for showing ads to your customers is if the person looking at it can see it’s an ad. You did it all wrong. You just want to make it look almost like an organic social posts, something their friend posted. And that is why many iPhone images work best when you Show ads to customers instead of like a super fashion camera or even stock images, I mean stock images, just avoid completely.

And finally, take advantage of a desirable offer create a strong call to action. Users can now be followed up by phone, email or encouraged to visit in person, set up an automatic leadexport from your manager. This way your customer will be notified with every thing. And this is all super made, super easy with Zapier. So I said, here are some more groups and secret tips. Outsourcing saves you time and gives the customer better results. You can create custom lead forms within ClickFunnels. As I said, see link below to get started using that and Zapier for everything. Okay. so that SMS follow-up can lead.

So here’s the next step. Go to the link in the description below. Sign up for free training and receive two free bonuses. Do you remember when I told you look earlier, I’ll go ahead and give you two resources to get you started. Good, number one is my cold call, plug and plate. This is straight from my paid course. Okay? That’s right from there, so it is a five page document exactly what to say in your unsolicited calls. To achieve success. I also give you live images of my old salesman of mine for an hour and a half bureau closes three meetings out of 10 conversations, live images of it. I’ll also give you a short abridge sales script of what to say in the meeting guarantee a closure.

Now often the fear actually starts as soon as you close the customers, so I got you because the next thing you are going to get is actually a six page plug and play about step by step ad display step in unbearable detail for local companies. You know, restaurants, gyms, chiropractors, real estate agents, and so on and so on. This is literally click by click what to do and the way you get it this, while clicking on the link in the description for the free training, I went ahead and released an extended two and a half hours together education.

Like I said, guys, YouTube is about seven minutes, ten minutes, 12 minute videos. So even only the, the length of this video doesn’t really prefer the way people like to watch things on YouTube, but I want to go further in depth and give you even more value. That’s why I went ahead and put together that free training link in the description and view all all the way through. And like I said, you even get those two bonuses directly from my paid course desk incubator. That is not all. Before go ahead and do that. I have a huge giveaway for you. So I want you to go ahead and comment in the comment section why you believe social media marketing is the best business model there is.

And for every hundred comments, I continue and give away a free one hour coaching session. Now to this day you can’t pay me to speak one-to-one unless your client is at my desk, IgE media, in that case I charge £ 25,000 for a two day training for me to come in and you and your consult company. And again, you must be a real entrepreneur. This is business to business and £ 25,000 equates to about $ 32,000 and it’s two eight-hour days.

So I charge people about $ 2000 an hour for my time right now. And you have to pay two days in advance. So if you want to go ahead and and get a free one on one coaching call. As I said, I don’t do coaching, I don’t do mentorships, I don’t work with anyone one-on-one unless they’re paying me $ 32,000 flying me out to their office and they’re a business making multiple seven figures a year. So the value on that is immense. The last time I did a video, there was a bunch of winners from that.

So as I said, comment why you believe social media marketing is the best business model and for every 100 comments I’m going to go ahead and pick a winner and we’ll have a chat and I’ll coach you on your journey. So ladies and gentlemen, I hope you liked this article. Go ahead and leave a comment and you will be valid for the giveaway. Then after that, pick a time, check out the free training and make sure you stay until the end to get your free gifts. I hope you guys have enjoyed this free training.

.

--

--

Dan Walters

Sharing insights on Social Media Marketing and Promoting various Valuable Resources