Story of Irani Chai

Goutham Vidya
3 min readJul 6, 2023

--

Photo courtesy: Google

February 10, 2018. There’s a reason I still remember the date. I was in Hyderabad on that day to attend an interview at Annapurna International School of Film and Media.

The interview went great, and I got selected. But that’s not why I still remember the date. It’s because of a person I met there, who’s still in my memory.

I was to come back from Hyderabad that night and booked a share cab from the hotel where I had stayed to go to Secunderabad Railway Station. In the cab, I was in the backseat with two women and another person in the front who was watching some fun TV program like that of the Kapil Sharma show. He was laughing at times.

About 800m before the Railway Station, the cab’s tyre got flat, and I was a little nervous as everyone there spoke either Hindi or Telugu, and I didn’t know much Hindi. After paying the cab driver, I asked for directions to the Railway Station, and he pointed me to walk straight.

Then, the man who was sitting in the front told me, “I’ll show you. Come.” That was a big relief for me. We both marched towards the Railway Station, and I started a conversation with him. He asked me why I was there, and I told him about the interview. He told me about his job, which was that of an IT professional.

He asked me whether I had eaten the Hyderabadi Biryani, to which I replied, “No”. In a persuasive tone, he said these words which I clearly remember, “You’ve come here and haven’t even tried the Hyderabadi Biryani? You should try it!” I couldn’t say anything but rather just gave him a smile.

We then talked about my interview, my state Kerala, each other’s families, and so on. The conversations with him felt so easy and friendly that my mind made me think suspicious of this guy. As a stranger in a new city and out of nowhere, how can someone speak so friendly? Was he going to make me unconscious by making me smell chloroform and run away with my belongings?

It was too good to come across a person like him at a strange new city among strangers, for which I was all prepared to react on sudden even if something unfortunate happens. While crossing the road, he told me that there’s a special tea available near the Railway Station and asked me if I had tried it or not. Again, I said, “No.”

He was like, “Okay, then why not try the one which is inside the Station.” My mind was like, “Ah yes! So that’s his plan. He’ll make me drink that tea and drug me to sleep!” Reaching the Railway Station, he reminded us of the tea which he was speaking so great of.

I tried to refuse again by telling excuses like it’ll be late and all, but neither of them worked. The tea shop was crowded, and he ordered the special tea for the two of us. Carefully examining the area and the crowd, which was drinking tea in the same cup I was holding, gave me a little relief that it was not that much dangerous.

I took a sip of the tea. WOW! Now that indeed was a special tea! It was very different! I was clearly enjoying each sip of it. And with each sip, the false thoughts about him were getting erased one by one. I was feeling very happy!

Seeing him take his wallet out to pay, I suddenly moved ahead and took out mine and went to pay for it, but he didn’t let me. And eventually, he paid. Coming out of the shop, I thanked him for the special tea, shook hands, and we walked in opposite directions. However, I stopped midway by a thought that rang through my mind: I didn’t even ask his name! I turned back only to find him lost in the crowd.

--

--

Goutham Vidya

Aspiring filmmaker from Perumbavoor, Kerala, crafting compelling stories to bring his cinematic vision to life. Published in Muse India and KITAAB.