Why OK Boomer Changed My Perception of Gen Z

G.P. Moss
5 min readDec 1, 2019

How perching on the border of a generational boundary forced a re-examination of the self.

Photo by zoe lin on Unsplash

Prejudice and Perception

During the initial training for a global electrical retailer’s customer service department, I was told that when addressing customers’ issues, to not let natural prejudices influence my decision-making.

I was like What? Why are you trying to tell me I’m prejudiced before you even know me? Didn’t you pick up on my pure persona from the psychological-employment screening test? Of course, the trainers were correct. No matter how much we might like to think we’re above all that, we are likely to be prejudiced against something.

Up until a month ago, I’ll admit that I was somewhat prejudiced against ‘the ‘younger generation’, mainly Gen Z but you can include Millennials (Gen Y, Generation Me, etc) into a sweeping generalization of lazy, self-entitled and risk-averse (I could go on but I’m in enough trouble already).

Sitting on the fence

One age group that shifts its boundaries and causes me consternation (now who’s being sensitive?) is Baby Boomer/Generation X. One publication can’t even seem to make up its mind where the boundary actually is. I’m 55 so I should be at the wrong/right/who knows? end of Baby Boomer. That’s me done for…

--

--

G.P. Moss

G.P. Moss is a multi-genre novelist from York. He has a BA in History, and an MA in Creative Writing and English Literature from the University of Sheffield.