The Boat

Graham Sprague
3 min readOct 23, 2023

“Do you ever wonder why we’re here?” Jimmy asked.

“We are painting this damned boat, that’s why we are here. Do you think I hang out here for my health?” Evan snapped.

“No, I mean why humans are here. There must be a reason.” Jimmy said.

“Awe, you talking some existential crap or something? We’re here ’cause our fathers were here, they got liquored up and-” Evan said as he was interrupted.

“I mean what does it all mean? You know what I mean?” Jimmy stared at Evan waiting for an answer.

“Man, you are all fucked up. You been painting the same 3 squares of this boat for the last hour tryin’ to figure out why you are here?” Evan laughed.

“I mean yeah doesn’t that bother you? Like, what does it all mean?” Jimmy said as he blankly stared at his unpainted section of the boat.

“It means you need to get to work painting this boat. I ain’t painting this whole thing myself.” Evan said mostly to himself.

“Evan, you know so far there is no other known intelligent life in the universe. That means it's just us. That's got to mean something.” Jimmy said while continuing not to paint.

“That’s not true. My uncle Carl, was abducted by aliens when he was a kid. My cousin told me the whole story one time but Carl won't talk about it-,” Evan said…

--

--

Graham Sprague

Tech professional, AI Wrangler and Contributor at humor and satire site, thePasquino.com