David Graham
2 min readSep 8, 2016

--

You nailed it, dude. Never thought about it that way, but you’re right, of course: The Catholic Church is a political organization — even, one might say, a benevolent one. Especially under Pope Francis. I’m an Episcopalian, but I like this pope.

The Catholic Church provides some kind of social cohesion and guidance for a billion people around the world. That ain’t a bad thing.

Not everyone has had the benefit of a good upbringing. My folks weren’t bad people, but they were oblivious about a lot of things parents are supposed to teach their children.

My mom warned me not to take candy from strangers, advised me to look both ways before crossing a street, and gave me my first sip of beer before she left us. My dad taught me how to handle a shotgun, how to pick horses, and how to spend money.

Sunday School, with its mishmash of parables, proverbs and psalms, probably gave me what sense of right and wrong I have. I suspect this is true for a lot of people. The Christian faith does have a civilizing effect. It’s sometimes a force for good.*

The Catholic Church is not the malignant presence it was in people’s lives during the Spanish Inquisition. It may not be as laid back as the Episcopal Church, but it has mellered, as my ex in-laws used to say in Arkansas.

Christopher Hitchens changed the way I saw Mother Teresa. I can’t unsee some of the things he made me see about her. So I can see why some people are unhappy about the pope canonizing her. But I totally get your point. The Church needs to maintain its symbols. Francis is a pragmatic guy.

*This sentence originally read “It’s mostly a force for good.” I changed mostly to sometimes after reading augustkhalilibrahim’s response.

--

--

David Graham

A picture’s worth a thousand words? Ever seen a picture that can say that?