Is Bitcoin Real Money?

Grant Cardone
2 min readMay 5, 2017

--

What are the dollars in your pocket? I recently released an article about how fiat currency is a scam. Fiat currency is money that a government has decided to be legal tender, but it is not backed up by physical commodities. Government-issued money is not fixed in value by any objective standard. America got off the gold standard with Nixon back in 1971, back when I was busy spending all my quarters in the bowling alley playing Asteroids.

Fiat currency is fake and is always losing value.

This hasn’t been happening for 3 months, it’s been going on a long time. The dollars in your pocket are worth less today than they were 10 years ago, and 10 years ago they were worth less than 20 years ago. The definition of real is actually existing as a thing or occurring in fact; not imagined or supposed; (of a substance or thing) not imitation, or artificial; genuine. Under that definition, I figure Bitcoin is every bit as real as the dollar — so why not accept it?

When it comes to selling, I want to transact with as many people as I can. That’s why as of today I’m now accepting Bitcoin as a new method of payment at my website. I’ve always tried to be innovative and stay ahead with new technologies. Cryptocurrency is another form of money that can help me generate revenue. As a bitcoin merchant, I want to make the payment experience easy for all people — I want to transact with everybody, so if you don’t have dollars, that’s not going to stop you and me from doing business together.

I’ve selected San Francisco-based Coinbase as the payment processor for all my Bitcoin transactions with customers who choose to buy my products this way. All transactions with Bitcoin complete instantaneously and are convenient and secure.

Now will I hoard Bitcoin? No, when I invest, I want it to be in something that is real, so I put my money into real estate. Yet it is exciting to have alternative payment options besides the dollar, so I’ve officially gone crypto. You can get up to 90% off my products today using Bitcoin!

Be obsessed or be average,

GC

--

--

Grant Cardone

CEO of Cardone Capital, international speaker, entrepreneur and author of The 10X Rule. Founded the largest business conference in the world, the 10XGrowthCon.