Land Acknowledgements

Grant Neufeld
Sep 29, 2017 · 2 min read

This is an incomplete document. I am most familiar with the place I live, Mohkinstis. If folks know of land acknowledgements for other areas within Alberta’s borders, please share them.


In the spirit of respect and truth, we honour and acknowledge that the land known as the province of Alberta is made up of territories covered by Treaty 4, Treaty 6, Treaty 7, and Treaty 8, as well as eight Métis settlements. We recognize that we have a shared obligation to uphold the “Spirit and Intent” of the Treaties by conducting ourselves responsibly and with mutual respect.

We acknowledge the many Indigenous peoples whose territories we have traveled through, currently live on, or have lived. In the land known as the province of Alberta, these peoples include but are not limited to the Cree, Saulteaux, Blackfoot, Nakota Sioux and Métis peoples.

We acknowledge the visiting indigenous nations from across Turtle Island (now known as North America). We acknowledge all treaties; fulfilled and broken. We acknowledge that colonial settler borders and names do not reflect the traditional territories. We are all treaty people, visitors to this land and we give thanks to the people who came before and keep this land for us and all our future generations.

Mohkinstis / Calgary

We acknowledge that we are on the land of the Treaty 7 People, the Blackfoot Confederacy of the Piikani, Siksika, Kainai and Blackfeet Nation south of the imposed international border. Other Treaty 7 signatories include the Stoney Nakoda-Bearspaw, Wesley, and Chiniki Nations and the Tsuut’ina Nation. We also acknowledge the members of the Métis Nation here.

Amiskwaciwâskahikan / Edmonton

We acknowledge that we are on the land of the Treaty 6 People. We thank the Cree, Saulteaux, Nakota, and Dene nations, for allowing us to gather on their traditional territories. We also acknowledge the people of the Métis Nation here.

For all the land acknowledgements

We acknowledge that our understanding and reconciliation is an ongoing process and that these acknowledgements are incomplete. We will continue to come back to these acknowledgements to extend and correct them as we learn together.

Composition of this document is based, in parts, on contributions and direction by Michelle Robinson, and from PowerShift by way of Matt Hammer, and the text of the land acknowledgement issued by the Calgary Foundation.

About the Treaties

Treaties applying to the territories bounded by the provincial borders of Alberta:

  • Treaty 4, 1874, Cree and Saulteux (south east corner)
  • Treaty 6, 1876 (central, including Amiskwaciwâskahikan/Edmonton)
  • Treaty 7, 1877 (south, including Mohkinstis/Calgary)
  • Treaty 8, 1899 (north)

It is important to recognize that some First Nations were not included in the treaty process. Among them, the Lubicon Cree, within the Treaty 8 boundaries but not a party to the Treaty, have had their traditional territory stolen and despoiled by logging and resource extraction.

Further Reading

Welcome to a place where words matter. On Medium, smart voices and original ideas take center stage - with no ads in sight. Watch
Follow all the topics you care about, and we’ll deliver the best stories for you to your homepage and inbox. Explore
Get unlimited access to the best stories on Medium — and support writers while you’re at it. Just $5/month. Upgrade

Get the Medium app

A button that says 'Download on the App Store', and if clicked it will lead you to the iOS App store
A button that says 'Get it on, Google Play', and if clicked it will lead you to the Google Play store