I Experimented With ChatGPT: Here’s What Happened

Greatmichael Kayode
5 min readJul 13, 2023

--

Photo Credit: JohannesBluemel Photography — Stock Photos

With ChatGPT, you can generate captivating hook ideas. You can request it to summarize lengthy speeches or presentations for you. You can ask it to compile a list of benefits associated with a desired solution and also inquire about the most common pain points of a specific audience or issue.

The possibilities are endless, however, the real question here is:

Is it worth the hype?

After experimenting with ChatGPT and similar tools, I must admit that I’m impressed with their capabilities. But, to address the similar burning questions that everyone wants an answer to:

Is it a magical tool for creating high-converting copy? No, it’s not.

Is it a shortcut to building a trustworthy business? Absolutely not.

Will it replace you as a writer? Not at all.

In this article, I will provide you with a step-by-step guide on how to utilize ChatGPT effectively; from determining the most effective prompts for optimal results to understanding the best practices for utilizing this tool (as well as others like it). And I have a valuable free gift to share with you at the end that will assist you in harnessing the power of AI for your copywriting and marketing endeavors.

If you learn to utilize AI properly, it can become your invaluable ally. The way I perceive ChatGPT (and other AI writing tools like it) is that they serve as exceptional writing assistants. Once you master their correct usage, you’ll save an immense amount of time, particularly during the initial stages of a writing project.

However, and I cannot stress this enough, not just anyone can achieve exceptional results with it. Absolutely not. If you genuinely desire AI to propel your business and marketing endeavors forward, you must possess a comprehensive understanding of the subject matter.

I will reiterate this point repeatedly: The quality of the output is entirely dependent on the input.

Low-quality prompts result in low-quality copy.

The better the prompts you provide, the more impressive your outcomes will be. Even with the correct prompts, you still require a foundational knowledge of the subject matter to discern what to do with the output. You need to determine whether it’s persuasive, relevant, and accurate. You must be capable of evaluating the generated output, making necessary adjustments, and fact-checking the information it provides.

I must provide a spoiler here: AI tools have a notorious reputation for generating incorrect or misleading information.

There’s no doubt that AI can accomplish remarkable feats, but before you can master the machine, you must first become a competent writer and marketer. You must understand how to utilize AI correctly by inputting the appropriate prompts, testing different models, and making sense of the results. I believe this presents an incredibly exciting opportunity for copywriters.

If you possess a strong foundation in marketing and copywriting, you’re already ten steps ahead of others in terms of utilizing AI. Fortunately, this is precisely what I focus on, and I’ve spent over three years creating content on these topics.

By dedicating time to mastering these tools, you can even offer AI optimization as a service to better serve your clients (and command higher fees).

It’s similar to how there are copywriters who specialize in video sales letters, Copywriters who specialize in funnel building, Copywriters who specialize in email marketing, Copywriters who specialize in product launches, and now, mark my words, there will be copywriters who specialize in AI architecture and optimization. We find ourselves in an entirely new world filled with endless opportunities.

How to Utilize ChatGPT as a Copywriter

In the spirit of complete transparency, allow me to share precisely how I implement AI for my copy. I understand that this may be uncharted territory for many creatives.

1. Research

I employ a range of AI tools, including VidIQ, Jasper.ai, AnswerThePublic, and yes, even ChatGPT, to assist me in researching trending topics, creating compelling headlines, and pinpointing the most effective keywords.

The initial stages of my content writing process rely on these AI tools. Instead of utilizing a haphazard approach and guessing which topics to cover in my content, these tools provide me with valuable insights into what people genuinely desire. This saves me countless hours of research.

2. Adding Captions

I use AI to swiftly add captions to some of my copy and post, saving me significant time.

3. Summarizing and Repurposing

One of my friends in the industry, a social media manager, regularly employs an AI tool called Descript for this purpose, which dramatically reduces her workload.

Rather than watching each three-hour interview her company conduct, she can quickly scan through transcriptions, extract the most valuable nuggets, and transform them into short clips to be repurposed on their social platforms.

4. Customer Support

I leverage an AI tool called ManyChat in my Instagram direct messages to promptly deliver free resources to my clients upon request. This tool enables me to automate lead generation, ensuring my clients don’t have to wait for me to manually send them the requested resources.

This has truly revolutionized my approach, as it allows me to provide my audience with what they desire exactly when they want it.

Final Thoughts

Now, did you notice something about the manner in which I utilize AI?

I never rely on AI to create any of my original content. Even when I employ AI for researching trending topics or headlines, I never use anything verbatim. I always add my own distinctive flair and perspective.

While incorporating AI into my marketing strategy is an excellent method to save time during ideation, strategizing, and systematizing, I never treat AI as a substitute for the creativity, empathy, or high-level strategy that I bring to the table. Every AI tool I employ works in harmony with my ideation and plan.

One thing I know for certain is that AI will inevitably breed even more skepticism within the industry. That’s precisely why it’s crucial not to become too reliant on it, as doing so may undermine the trust of your audience. This belief is so deeply ingrained within me that I recently implemented an AI Policy that reflects this commitment.

I only use AI when:

  • It enhances my client’s experience and helps them achieve results more efficiently.
  • It enables me to produce high-quality content at an equal or faster pace.

Additionally, I always maintain transparency whenever I employ AI to ensure my community never feels deceived. I’m not claiming that this is the best or only approach. I’m also not asserting that we won’t adapt and pivot as technology continues to evolve. However, for the time being, this is my approach.

I hope you found this information incredibly valuable. Here’s my special gift for you to help you optimize your AI usage and achieve the best possible results; free iCopy Posse Prompts.

--

--

Greatmichael Kayode

Learn about all things marketing, copywriting, branding, and social media. Everything you need to ignite your business is here. Follow and be informed!