Response to 1 star review problem: ads auto opening Play Store on LOLCats Android

GreenRobot LLC
1 min readJun 13, 2016

--

I have noticed a 1 star review on Google Play for LOLCats Android. The user reported that the app was automatically taking them to the Play Store. As the developer, I have not authorized this, and I take this issue very seriously. I have not seen this issue myself, however I had been testing Appodeal ads as a new replacement for Mopub ads a few months ago. (I still use Mopub on apps, I just like to investigate new ad networks) I suspect it’s an ad network that is causing it, and since they are the mediator, I have decided to remove them and replace them with Admob by Google. Google cares very much about user experience so I think the issue should be solved.

I have also moved the ads to the bottom of the screen so ads are not accidentally clicked when using the menu. I am pretty sure that this is not the issue the 1 star reviewer noticed since he said it happened every 2 minutes, but it’s something Appodeal pointed out to me.

I hate when I have this happen to apps or websites I use, so I apologize that this happened on my app, even though I’m not sure exactly which malicious advertiser or ad network is causing it without my permission.

--

--

GreenRobot LLC

iOS, Android, and Facebook apps and games By: @andytriboletti.