75 Hard, Day 1

Greg Myers
2 min readApr 2, 2024

--

Hi,

It’s me.

I’m the problem, it’s me.

I love the song.

The problem is how loudly it resonates in my life right now.

This Sunday will mark one year of my last day of active duty in the Marine Corps. It was the capstone event of 20-years of work.

I was successful. I also went to a lot of different places in the name of some sort of conflict.

There it is. That word. Conflict.

It’s a place I thrive. If it isn’t imposed on me, I create it with self-destructive behaviors.

I attract chaos. When I’m not staring it in the face, I make it.

It’s a problem and, yes, it is a me problem.

And here I go again. I haven’t done anything illegal. I didn’t hurt anyone.

But I have been hurting myself.

I stepped on the scale at 216lbs this morning with a whopping 32% body fat. If you’re keeping score, that’s approximately 70lbs of fat on my 5'9" 40-year-old frame.

You wouldn’t think I served for 20-years in the Marine Corps by looking at me. You would believe me after a short conversation, but you would leave the little talk asking yourself, “What the eff happened to that guy?”

I want to get rid of that guy.

Frankly, as sadistic as it sounds, I want to kill that guy just to watch him die.

I am starting with 75 Hard.

There’s more to it. This will be a daily journal of that process and what the rebuild will look like.

This journal and this journey are primarily for me. If you’re a veteran and want to come along for the ride, I would love your company.

Or if you’re just down to hear a story as it unfolds, this is it.

Yes, it’s me. I’m the problem.

Time to kill that problem.

--

--

Greg Myers

Retired Marine. Athlete in my own mind, dude with a DadBod just trying to crush in reality. Story teller. Fitness enthusiast. Love trying to live my best life.