Gregory Forrest
3 min readSep 18, 2017
Pink Chanel Suit

“Rebel In the Rye” the story of JD Sallinger. (Film notes)

This film blew me away. I have heard of Sallinger. Never read any of his work.

I’ve seen this film the past two nights. ipast two evenings.

I took notes the second time I saw it.

So much sage advice spewing forth from this films well of words.

My notes first, my close afterward.

My notes:
Fiction is more true than reality, which is the great irony.

Nothing more sacred than a story

Turn your voice into a narrative

Re: Learning to be a writer and actually being one, you’ll learn the difference in this class (course/group/book/) etc.

Voice overwhelming the story, voice makes the story unique, keep the voice out of your writing to make it connect to the reader. Otherwise if your voice is louder than the story it is your ego, and you’ll lose the reader.

Events of the story draw us in, then use your voice to draw the reader in

OnSet-Hollywood.Com

Voice tells the story does NOT become it

Writers learn to deal with rejection.

Why do you want to write Mr. Sallinger? “Because I’m angry, and when I write I feel like I’m doing something about my anger, and what bothers me.”

Write to tell stories, expect to get nothing in return.

I want my writing to be truthful (to me as the writer)

Imagine the book YOU as the writer would want to read, and go write it.

Do you write to show off your talent, or express what’s in your heart?

Don’t over explain…

If there are distractions that keep you from writing, then you must remove the distractions.

Be “in the service” of the story

Writing is the only time I have any peace.

Photo credit: Trakt.tv

I know several people with Journalism degrees. None write. I on the other hand never went to college. Took my state test, passed and my highest grade completed is 10.

I’m extremely fortunate. Write place write time. A few years back I was published. I had a weekly column in the local paper. My picture was in each column.

I’d attend events, interview folks, take notes and write a story. People nicknamed me “Jimmy Olsen. “

After a couple articles people started referring to me as a “writer”.

This didn’t feel right. The editor said “Greg, if you write something and it’s published, you’re writer.

Well alrighty then. I’ve read here on Medium, that this is a common writers thread.

Currently for 18 months, I’ve been writing for a small monthly newsletter. They’ve published every piece I have submitted. Each submission must be 600 words.

This my fellow writers has helped me learn how to edit myself. Keep it short. Folks online are in a hurry!

So, to all my fledgling writers here on medium, published & not, keep on writing !

My fiesta de resistance thus far happened earlier this year.

I submitted an article to a large Bay Area paper. It has been published since 1971, weekly circulation of 29,000!

They accepted what I wrote and published it two weeks later. First try. Sent an email to the editor she replied in ten minutes.

Bam.Done. Short bio, pic and two weeks later it was published as an op-ed..

My final gift of my experience to impart to you my writers is this: Not one word of what I’ve submitted has been edited anything I’ve. I know my fellow writers understand how flattering this is.

You keep writing. I’ll continue to enjoy all the things you say here, as I’m sure you do.I love Medium!