How my reading improved in a month with my new Kindle reader!

Gregory Sequeira
4 min readDec 31, 2018

After reading the multiple benefits of reading books from multiple sources, I decided to invest in a kindle (Investment ‘cause of its numerous benefits that I had read, some of which I am experiencing currently). The decision of purchasing one came after a lot of research as I had a tight budget and even the basic version of a Kindle(that I proudly possess now) seemed like a big purchase.

November 7th, 2018, the day my Amazon Kindle reader arrived. Little did I know, a month ago, that this would soon become my most significant purchase in the last 2 years (in just a month of usage).

I linked my amazon prime account with my kindle and downloaded the Kindle App for my Android phone. I learned that I can send my own PDF files on the kindle and read it, something that I find really useful. As you’ll are aware, kindle books are cheaper than their paperback counterparts, but some books are really cheap, as cheap as Rs. 9( $ 0.13) sometimes.

So what real improvement has taken place in my 1 month with the Kindle? Read on.

Number of books read per month has grown 12 fold!

To put it in numbers, I read 4 books in a span of 28 days. 4 Books! That adds up to 48 books/year. That is an insane increase from my previous 4 books/year. I have increased my reading speed by a factor of 12.

To be honest, I had thought I’ll at-least read 2 books a month to justify my investment in a kindle. But what I ended up doing has blown my mind. Just in case you'll wonder, I read the following 4 titles (2 books at a time).

The design of everyday things, by Don Norman.

The design of everyday things needs no introduction, I believe it provides a mental model for everyone who’s got anything to do with designing a product (basically everyone). Read it, thank me(and Don Norman) later.

Raghu, by Raghu Ram.

Growing up I have been a big fan of the reality show Roadies on MTV India, so reading the biography of the person responsible for creating this youth phenomenon was a no-brainer for me. Plus, it was free with my Prime account. Win-Win.

Musings of a financially Illiterate father, by Anand Saxena.

This is one of those books which I highly recommend for anyone who is just starting his/her career. This book is loaded with a lot of financial knowledge. No book can better teach the finances than this one. 10 out of 10. Worth every penny.

Origin, by Dan Brown

I am a Dan Brown Fan-boy. Read all of his titles (except for The Lost Symbol which is collecting dust in my bookshelf). I really enjoyed reading Origin. The story is very well written and I never lost interest in reading it, never felt like putting it down. I really recommend this one. Amazing thriller.

There is one subtle feature in a kindle which has helped me increase my reading speed but it didn’t stand out at first.

source: https://www.tekrevue.com/tip/reset-remaining-chapter-book-time-kindle/

At the bottom left of my Kindle screen, lies the real secret. That little indication of how many minutes are remaining in the current chapter has gone a long way in helping me read more. It’s more of a psychological thing really. I kept telling myself that just a little more, 3 minutes is hardly anything. I pushed myself to read more whenever I encountered such 3-minute chapters.

Even Medium has this amazing feature of the length of the article in minutes left, which sometimes decided whether or not I read the article. Subtle nuances really.

I will try to read 4 books or more in December as well, but can’t really commit because I have to join a new company and Christmas is around the corner(yay!).

Feel free to comment on this or connect with me at gregorysequeira101@gmail.com .

Have an awesome day!

--

--

Gregory Sequeira

Software Developer ~ Musician ~ Avid reader ~ Multipotentialite| Trying on hats of varied perspectives.