So I’m writing a book… DE$IGN — A Designer’s Guide to Wealth & Success.

Greg Shuster
2 min readAug 17, 2016

--

The premise of DE$IGN is simple, it’s the book I wish I had 17 years ago when I started down the path of my career in design. The resulting publication will be an actionable how-to guide on achieving wealth and success in the design business.

As an adjunct Art Institute professor I’ve been questioned by countless students on how to make a money in the design field for years. It happens every semester without fail. So, it seemed to be a worthwhile effort to compile my advice, as well as experiences from my professional contemporaries, and stop with the in class soapbox speeches!

After over a decade of navigating my way through in-house, freelance, agency, and academic gigs I am eager to share my collected experiences (success and failures) with eager design students, early career designers, or anyone interested in carving out a comfortable living in the design industry.

You won’t find corny design “do what you love and you’ll never work a day in your life” anecdotes here, instead an in depth look at the the design industry and how to take advantage of your skills. A few examples of what will be covered:

• Setting personal and career goals
• Covering all types of design fields, what they do, and how they work
• Finding your skill set (UX, print, branding, etc.)
• Promoting and marketing yourself
* Interviews/stories from successful industry veterans

I’m hoping to have a polished draft done in 2017 along with a few presentations prepared in parallel.

Got a success story you’d like to share? I’m always looking for interviews. DM me for specifics.

Otherwise keep an eye out for updates!

--

--