Don’t own a car, claim your freedom

Greta Faccio, PhD
3 min readFeb 20, 2020

--

Cars are great, don’t get me wrong.

My best holidays are due to a car taking me to the beach on a hot highway. I love cars that have soft velvety seats and the best loudspeakers. Their smell of genuine plastic and leather is addictive. I cannot deny it, I love the small environment that a car creates and the intimacy it creates when you are with your BFF, your lover, your family. I love driving with people chatting around me or singing loud like there is no tomorrow.

There are more than 300 million vehicles in the EU, more than one for every two Europeans.

I have however decided not to own a car.

what’s better than driving around in a hot summer day?

The reasoning took very long to ripen and condensed in a few ideas:

1. It’s an expensive accessory

Cars are big, loud and expensive. Like any product we buy, it has to absolve a function. Data say that the average car price now tops over $34,000. What can a car do for me? Well, it would mainly take me to work each day and keep warm, and sit outside int he cold street for the rest of the time. It would also give me a sense of fulfilment, having my expensive car and being free to roam around the city. If chosen properly it will make people’s head turn add soon as I pass. Well, this is clearly an added value.

2. It’s a big needy child

The initial cost is just the tip of the iceberg riding above insurance costs, parking costs, cleaning costs, and many other costs that are difficult to forecast. In Switzerland, a car can require more than CHF 10’000 francs every year. What if something breaks down in a month when I cannot afford it? What if my dog pukes in it and it will smell terrible forever?

3. It comes with extra costs

Although the initial price of a car is not daunting and many payments strategies can be adopted, the associated costs coming with insurance and mansions can be significant. The national US costs of an annual car insurance is $1,457.

4. It takes away me-time

This is counter-intuitive as cars let you travel fast, often faster than public transport. Cars, like babies and mascaras demand undivided attention when operated. Such a repetitive action can however get boring very wuickly our attention drops. No surprise almost 60% of drivers enjoy eating and drinking while driving. It’s a matter of life and death. I now work some 40 km from home and that would take me around half am hour by car, considering the small roads and the traffic. One full hour per day sitting behind the wheel… uhmmm.

What do I do instead of driving?

I have decided to commute by train. I spend more time commuting than I would driving for sure. I can however read that book that sat on my table for too long, talk with a friend or a stranger, read the newspaper and gain a topic of conversation for the coffee break, or just knit a nice scarf for a friend. Observing people is also highly educational for knowing what goes on in my world and not feeling isolated… as I would in the car.

--

--